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iSuperior Court of California, County of Fresno

This document summarizes the benefits program. Full details of the benefit plans are contained in the official documents, which will govern in the case 
of any discrepancies.

If you (and/or your dependents) have Medicare or you will become eligible for Medicare 
in the next 12 months, a Federal law gives you more choices about your prescription drug coverage.

Please see page 30 for more details.
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1Superior Court of California, County of Fresno

The Superior Court of Fresno County understands the importance of offering a comprehensive benefit program that meets 
the needs of our workforce. We are pleased to provide a suite of quality benefit plans to all benefit eligible employees for the 
January 1, 2022 plan year.

2022 Core Plan Offerings
• Blue Shield HMO

• Blue Shield PPO

• Blue Shield HDHP

• Kaiser Permanente 
HMO

• Kaiser Permanente 
HDHP

• Optum HSA

• Superior Vision

• Delta Dental PPO

• MetLife DHMO

• Magellan EAP

• Cigna Life & AD&D

Voluntary Benefits
• Flexible Spending 

Accounts

• Long Term Disability

• Cancer Insurance

• Accident Insurance

• Home and Auto 
Insurance

Or Enroll or Join
• The Deferred Compensation program

• Noble Credit Union

Benefit Choices
The Court recognizes that your benefits are an important 
part of the reason you choose to work here. The Court 
provides a variety of high quality benefits at a reasonable 
cost to you. Since you have some choices to make, it is 
important to understand the various programs, which is 
why this Handbook is being provided for you. There are 
also individual brochures for each of the benefit plans 
available in HR or on the ADP web portal.

Introduction
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Employees
Employees filling regular, full-time positions are eligible 
for coverage under the plan. Employees filling regular, 
part-time positions are eligible for coverage under the plan 
if they are working at least 50% of the normal bi-weekly 
pay period; however, part-time employees’ costs shall be 
pro-rated. Employees filling Extra Help positions are eligible 
for medical, dental, and vision coverage after 90 days of 
employment.

Eligible employees are required to maintain medical, 
dental, and vision coverage at all times. The choice for 
employee and dependent health insurance coverage must 
be made within the first thirty (30) days of employment or 
eligibility, or during the annual open enrollment period. 
If no selection is made within the allotted time limit, the 
Court will automatically enroll the employee (excluding 
dependents) into the plan with the least out-of-pocket cost 
to the Court.

Employees may opt out of the Court’s health insurance 
plan by providing the HR department with written proof of 
other employer sponsored group coverage and submitting 
a completed opt out form.

Active Employment
An employee will be deemed in “active employment” 
status on:

• Each day you are actually performing services for 
the Court,

• Each day of a regular paid vacation

• A regular non-working day, provided you were 
actively at work on your last preceding scheduled 
regular working day and

• Any day on which you were absent from work during 
an approved FMLA or other applicable protected 
leave, or solely due to your own health status

Eligibility
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Dependents
When enrolling dependents, appropriate documentation 
and/or proof of dependent status is required by the Court 
and will be requested by Human Resources.

Accepted forms of proof include: Marriage and Birth 
Certificates, Tax Returns, State Issued Declaration of 
Domestic Partnership, Adoption Certificate or Proof of 
Legal Guardianship.

An eligible dependent of an employee is:

• A legally married spouse

• A registered domestic partner

•  A Child, up to age 26.  
For these purposes a “child” will include:

– Biological Child

– Stepchildren

– Children of a registered domestic partner 

– Legally adopted children (including a child for 
whom legal adoption proceedings have been 
started)

– Any other child for whom you are required to 
provide health plan coverage under a Qualified 
Medical Child Support Order

– A disabled child at any age, as long as he/she 
continues to meet the conditions as defined by 
Section 12102 of the Americans with Disabilities 
Act (ADA)

– 

Non-Eligible Dependents

An eligible dependent does not include:

• A spouse following final decree of dissolution or 
divorce, or

• Any person who is on active duty in a military service, 
to the extent permitted by law.

Dual Coverage

If you and your spouse are both eligible for coverage 
under the Court’s plan as employees:

• You and your spouse may not be covered as both an 
employee and your spouse’s dependent

• Your dependent children may not be covered by 
both parents

Change in Dependent Eligibility

It is the employee’s responsibility to notify the Court’s 
HR  Office within 30 days or sooner of a dependent’s 
change in status that would make the dependent eligible or 
ineligible for benefit coverage. Some examples of a change 
in dependent status are birth, death, adoption or divorce.

Continuation of Coverage (COBRA)
While you must delete your ineligible dependent 
within 30 days of the loss of eligibility, failure to delete your 
ineligible dependent within 60 days of loss of eligibility will 
result in a loss of continuation of coverage rights (COBRA) 
for your dependents.

Change in Beneficiaries
Certain events in your life such as marriage, divorce, or 
a death in the family can affect who you name as your 
designated beneficiary for certain benefits. You may change 
your beneficiary(ies) at any time. If you wish to do so, you 
can obtain most beneficiary forms from HR or change them 
through the ADP portal. You must designate a beneficiary 
for Basic Life Insurance.

Eligibility (continued)
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Regular Employees
Medical, Dental and Vision coverage are effective on the 
date of hire when you complete and return the enrollment 
form within 30 days of your hire date. Life insurance is 
effective on the first of the month following the date of hire.

As a new hire, to receive the coverage you want, you 
must enroll yourself and your eligible dependents within 
the 30 day eligibility period. If you do not enroll, you 
will automatically be enrolled in the lowest cost plans, 
without your dependents. Your next opportunity to change 
coverage or add dependents will be during the next annual 
enrollment period, unless your dependents experience a 
qualifying event.

Extra Help Employees
Employees classified as Extra Help are eligible for benefits 
at the start of the pay period which includes the 90th day 
of employment. Employees are able to enroll in medical, 
dental and vision plans and add any eligible dependents.

Open Enrollment
During the scheduled open enrollment period, you can 
select a new medical plan, add or delete dependents 
without a qualifying event, or enroll in one of the many 
voluntary plans including life insurance. This is also the 
time of year to enroll in a medical and/or dependent care 
flexible spending account. Anyone currently participating 
in the flexible spending account programs must re-enroll in 
order to continue coverage in the 2022 plan year.

Supporting documentation will be required by 
Human Resources to add new dependents.

Changing plans and adding or deleting qualified 
dependents may affect the premium you pay through 
payroll deductions. The changes requested will take place 
effective January 1, 2022 and will be reflected on the 
paycheck you receive on January 15, 2022.

ADP Information
All employees are required to enroll in the health plans 
through the ADP portal at workforcenow.adp.com or by 
calling ADP Customer Service at 855.547.8508.

If you are eligible to participate in the Court’s medical plans as an active employee and wish to continue working after reaching 
age 65, you have important options to consider when approaching Medicare eligibility. While you are still an active benefited 
employee under a Court medical plan, you may be able to delay enrollment in some parts of Medicare without incurring a late 
enrollment penalty at a later date. Your Court medical plan remains primary to Medicare while you are working.

For details of what’s covered under Medicare, how to enroll, and your option regarding Medicare coverage, contact your local 
Social Security office or visit medicare.gov on the web.

Medicare While Working

Coverage Effective Dates

http://workforcenow.adp.com
http://medicare.gov
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Qualifying Events
You may experience certain events during the plan year that would allow you to change yours or your dependent’s medical 
coverage. If any of the following events occur, you must change your benefit coverage within 30 days of the event:

• Change in your legal marital or domestic 
partner status, including marriage, death of your 
spouse/domestic partner, divorce, legal separation 
or annulment.

• Change in the number of your dependents, including 
birth, adoption, placement for adoption or death or 
your dependent.

• Change in your employment status, including 
termination or commencement of employment of 
you, your spouse, your domestic partner or your 
dependent.

• Change in work schedule for you or your 
spouse/domestic partner, including an increase or 
decrease in the number of hours of employment, 
a switch between full-time and part-time status, a 
strike, lockout or commencement or return from an 
unpaid leave of absence.

• Your dependent satisfies or no longer meets the 
eligibility requirements for dependents.

• A change in the place of residence or worksite of 
you or your spouse/domestic partner (This move 
must affect your coverage options).

• You, your spouse/domestic partner or your 
dependents lose COBRA coverage.

• You, your spouse/domestic partner or your 
dependents enroll for Medicare or Medicaid or lose 
coverage under Medicare or Medicaid.

• If the plan receives a decree, judgment or court 
order, including a QMSCSO pertaining to your 
dependent, you may add the child to the plan or 
drop the child from the plan.

• A significant change in benefit or cost of coverage 
for you or your spouse/domestic partner.

• Your spouse/domestic partner employer provides 
the opportunity to enroll or change benefits during 
an open enrollment period.

Special Enrollment Rights as Provided by HIPAA
• You initially declined coverage under the plan 

because you had coverage under another plan, and 
subsequently incurred a loss of coverage under the 
other plan.

• Occurrence of certain events such as birth, adoption, 
placement for adoption or marriage.

• Eligibility for state premium subsidies under the 
Children’s Health Insurance Program or State 
Children’s Health Insurance Program.

• Loss of coverage under Medicaid, The Children’s 
Health Insurance Program or State Children’s Health 
Insurance Program.

Changes in Coverage
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If you enroll in a High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP) you have the option of opening a Health Savings Account (HSA) with 
Optum, as long as you meet the eligibility guidelines.

An HSA is a voluntary savings account established for reimbursement of qualified medical expenses. HSAs were created to 
provide individuals with a tax saving benefit for certain medical expenses when covered under a HDHP.

An HSA in not a medical plan with a carrier. It is an individual account established for your contributions and expenses. It is able 
to reimburse the same category of eligible expenses as a Medical Flexible Spending Account, however your maximum available 
reimbursement is limited to your account balance.

Among the benefits of an HSA are:
• Contributions are exempt from Federal (not 

State) taxes;

• Interest and earnings are exempt from Federal taxes;

• Distributions are tax free when used for qualified 
medical expenses as listed under IRS Code 213 (d) 
such as copays, deductibles, dental vision expenses 
and more;

• Assets roll over from year to year - no “use it or 
lose it”;

• You can change the contribution at any time;

• The HSA is portable, so you can use the assets even 
if you leave the Court’s employment.

In order to be eligible to 
contribute to an HSA, you must:

• Be enrolled in an HDHP;

• Have no other non-HDHP health coverage;

• Not be enrolled in Medicare

• Have not received VA medical benefits at any time 
over the past three months;

• Not be able to be claimed as a dependent on 
someone else’s tax return;

• Not be contributing to a general purpose medical 
Flexible Spending Account (FSA). However, you 
may contribute to a limited purpose medical FSA 
for qualifying dental and vision expenses only, and 
also contribute to an HSA.

Even if you are no longer eligible to contribute to an 
HSA, whether you switch from a HDHP or leave the Court 
employment, your HSA account remains active for the 
reimbursement of qualified medical expenses until it is 
depleted. Non medical withdrawals are considered taxable 
income and will have a 20% penalty if you are under 65.

Deductible minimums and contribution maximums are 
set by the IRS each year. For the 2022 plan year:

Minimum Deductibles

• Individual: $1,400

• Family: $2,800

Contribution Maximums

• Individual: $3,600

• Family: $7,200

An additional $1,000 can be contributed over the 
age of 55.

Health Savings Account
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Care of Services Kaiser Permanente
HMO

Kaiser Permanente
HDHP $1,400

General Plan Information

• Annual Deductible Everything is subject to deductible 
unless otherwise stated

– Individual/Family $0/$0 $1,400/$2,800

• Coinsurance 100% 100%

• Office Visit/Exam $15 copay $20 copay

• Outpatient Specialist Visit $15 copay $20 copay

• Annual Out-of-Pocket Limit 
(Individual/Family) $1,500/$3,000 $3,000/$6,000

• Deductible Included in Out-of-Pocket Limits N/A Yes

• Lifetime Plan Maximum Unlimited Unlimited

• Primary Care Physician Election Required Yes Yes

Outpatient Services

• Well-Child Care 100% 100% (deductible waived)

• Immunizations 100% 100% (deductible waived)

• Well-Woman Exams 100% 100% (deductible waived)

• Mammograms 100% 100% (deductible waived)

• Adult Periodic Exams with Preventive Tests 100% 100% (deductible waived)

• Diagnostic X-Ray and Lab Tests 100% $10 copay; 100% for Preventive 
(deductible waived)

Maternity Care

• Pregnancy and Maternity Care 
(Pre-Natal Care) 100% 100% (deductible waived)

Inpatient Hospital Services

• Inpatient Hospitalization 100% $250 copay/admit

• Pre-Authorization of Services Required Yes Yes

• Semi-Private Room & Board; 
including Services and Supplies 100% $250 copay/admit

Surgical Services

• Outpatient Facility Charge $15 copay/procedure $150 copay/procedure

Emergency Services

• Emergency Room $100 copay (waived if admitted) 100% + $100 copay  
(copay waived if admitted)

• Ambulance (air or ground) $50 copay/trip $100 copay/trip

Urgent Care

• Urgent Care Facility $15 copay $20 copay

Mental Health Benefits

• Inpatient Care 100% $250 copay/admit

• Outpatient Care $15 copay for individual visits;
$7 copay for group visits

$20 copay for individual visits;
$10 copay for group visits

The information on this page is intended to be a summary of your benefit provisions, limitations and exclusions. Please review your Summary Plan Description (SPD) 
for a complete summary of benefits.

Medical – Kaiser Permanente



Superior Court of California, County of Fresno8

Care of Services Kaiser Permanente
HMO

Kaiser Permanente
HDHP $1,400

Substance Abuse

• Inpatient Care

– Inpatient Hospitalization 100% $250 copay/admit

– Inpatient Detoxification Services 100% $250 copay/admit

• Outpatient Care

– Outpatient Services $15 copay for individual visits;
$5 copay for group visits

$20 copay for individual visits;
$5 copay for group visits

Prescription Drugs

• Retail

– Generic $10 copay $10 copay

– Brand (Formulary/Preferred) $20 copay $30 copay

– Specialty Rx 20% up to $200 20% up to $150

– Number of Days Supply 30 days 30 days

Mail Order

– Generic $20 copay $20 copay

– Brand (Formulary/Preferred) $40 copay $60 copay

– Number of Days Supply 100 days 100 days

Other Services and Supplies

• Durable Medical Equipment 
and Prosthetic Devices

80% for DME;
100% for Prosthetic Devices

80% for DME;
100% for Prosthetic Devices

• Home Health Care 100%; limited to 100 visits/calendar year 100%; limited to 100 visits/calendar year

• Skilled Nursing or Extended Care Facility 100%; limited to 100 days/benefit period $250 copay/admit; 
limited to 100 days/benefit period

• Hospice Care 100% 100% covered

• Chiropractic Services
$10 copay; 

limited to 30 visits/calendar year; services 
provided by American Specialty Health

Not covered

• Acupuncture $15 copay $20 copay

Vision

• Copay

– Allowance Amount $175 N/A

– Exam $0 copay $20 copay

– Materials See Allowance Amount Not covered

• Benefit Frequency

– Exam 12 months N/A

– Lenses 24 months N/A

– Frames 24 months N/A

– Contacts 24 months; in lieu of lenses and frames N/A

The information on this page is intended to be a summary of your benefit provisions, limitations and exclusions. Please review your Summary Plan Description (SPD) 
for a complete summary of benefits.

Medical – Kaiser Permanente (continued)
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Care of Services Kaiser Permanente
HMO

Kaiser Permanente
HDHP $1,400

Hearing

• Screening $15 copay $20 copay

• Aid(s) $1,000 allowance/device; 
one device/ear; two devices/36 months Not covered

Infertility

• Diagnosis See Plan Certificate Not covered

• Treatment See Plan Certificate Not covered

Outpatient Rehabilitative Therapy Services

• Physical $15 copay $20 copay

• Occupational $15 copay $20 copay

• Speech $15 copay $20 copay

The information on this page is intended to be a summary of your benefit provisions, limitations and exclusions. Please review your Summary Plan Description (SPD) 
for a complete summary of benefits.

Medical – Kaiser Permanente (continued)
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Benefits at a Glance Blue Shield 
HMO

Blue Shield PPO Blue Shield HDHP

In-Network Out-of-Network In-Network Out-of-Network

General Plan Information

• Annual Deductible Everything is subject to deductible 
unless otherwise stated

Everything is subject to deductible 
unless otherwise stated

– Individual/Family $0/$0 $250/$500 $250/$500 $1,400/$2,800 $1,400/$2,800

• Coinsurance 100% 100% 50% 100% 50%

• Office Visit/Exam $15 copay $20 copay 
(deductible waived)

50% 100% 50%

• Outpatient Specialist Visit $30 copay $20 copay 
(deductible waived)

50% 100% 50%

• Annual Out-of-Pocket Limit

– Individual/Family $1,500/$3,000 $3,250/$6,500 $6,250/$12,500 $2,800/$5,400 $5,000/$10,000

• Deductible included in 
Out-of-Pocket Limits N/A Yes Yes Yes Yes

• Lifetime Plan Maximum Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited

• Primary Care Physician 
Election Required Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A

Outpatient Services

• Well-Child Care 100% 100% 
(deductible waived)

Not covered 100% 
(deductible waived)

Not covered

• Immunizations 100% 100% 
(deductible waived)

Not covered 100% 
(deductible waived)

Not covered

• Well-Woman Exams 100% 100% 
(deductible waived)

Not covered 100% 
(deductible waived)

Not covered

• Mammograms 100%
$20 copay 

(deductible waived for 
preventive)

50%
100% 

(deductible waived if 
preventive)

50%

• Adult Periodic Exams 
with Preventive Tests 100% 100% 

(deductible waived)
Not covered 100% 

(deductible waived)
Not covered

• Diagnostic X-Ray and Lab Tests 100%
$20 copay 

(deductible waived for 
preventive)

50%
100% 

(deductible waived if 
preventive)

50%

Maternity Care

• Pregnancy and Maternity 
Care (Pre-Natal Care) 100% 100% 50% 100% 50%

Inpatient Hospital Services

• Inpatient Hospitalization 100% $100 copay/admit
50%; 

$600 max allowed 
charge per day

100%
50%; 

$600 max allowed 
charge per day

• Pre-Authorization of 
Services Required Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

• Semi-Private Room & Board; 
including Services and Supplies 100% $100 copay/admit

50%; 
$600 max allowed 

charge per day
100%

50%; 
$600 max allowed 

charge per day

Surgical Services

• Outpatient Facility Charge 100% 100%
50%; 

$350 max allowed 
charge per day

100%
50%; 

$350 max allowed 
charge per day

The information on this page is intended to be a summary of your benefit provisions, limitations and exclusions. Please review your Summary Plan Description (SPD) 
for a complete summary of benefits.

Medical – Blue Shield
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Benefits at a Glance Blue Shield 
HMO

Blue Shield PPO Blue Shield HDHP

In-Network Out-of-Network In-Network Out-of-Network

Emergency Services

• Emergency Room $100 copay 
(waived if admitted)

$100 copay 
(deductible waived 

if admitted)

$100 copay 
(deductible waived 

if admitted)
100% 100%

• Ambulance (air or ground) $100 copay 100% 100% 100% 100%

Urgent Care

• Urgent Care Facility $15 copay $20 copay 50% 100% 50%

Mental Health Benefits

• Inpatient Care 100% $100 copay/admit
50%; 

$600 max allowed 
charge per day

100%
50%; 

$600 max allowed 
charge per day

• Outpatient Care $15 copay $20 copay 
(deductible waived)

50% 100% 50%

Substance Use Disorder

• Inpatient Care

– Inpatient Detoxification Services 100% $100 copay/admit
50%; 

$600 max allowed 
charge per day

100%
50%; 

$600 max allowed 
charge per day

• Outpatient Care

– Outpatient Services $15 copay $20 copay 
(deductible waived)

50% 100% 50%

Prescription Drugs

• Deductible N/A N/A N/A Subject to 
annual deductible

Subject to 
annual deductible

• Retail

– Generic $10 copay $10 copay $10 copay + 25% $10 copay $10 copay + 25%

– Brand (Formulary/Preferred) $25 copay $20 copay $20 copay + 25% $25 copay $25 copay + 25%

– Brand (Non-Formulary/
Non-Preferred) $40 copay $35 copay $35 copay + 25% $40 copay $40 copay + 25%

– Specialty Rx 20% up to $200 30% up to $250 30% up to 
$250 + 25% 30% up to $200 30% up to 

$200 + 25%

– Number of Days Supply 30 days 30 days 30 days 30 days 30 days

• Mail Order

– Generic $20 copay $20 copay Not covered $20 copay Not covered

– Brand (Formulary/Preferred) $50 copay $40 copay Not covered $50 copay Not covered

– Brand (Non-Formulary/
Non-Preferred) $80 copay $70 copay Not covered $80 copay Not covered

– Number of Days Supply 90 days 90 days N/A 90 days N/A

The information on this page is intended to be a summary of your benefit provisions, limitations and exclusions. Please review your Summary Plan Description (SPD) 
for a complete summary of benefits.

Medical – Blue Shield (continued)
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Benefits at a Glance Blue Shield 
HMO

Blue Shield PPO Blue Shield HDHP

In-Network Out-of-Network In-Network Out-of-Network

Other Services and Supplies

• Durable Medical Equipment 
and Prosthetic Devices

50% for DME;
100% for 
Prosthetic 

Devices including 
Orthotics

100% 50% 100% 50%

• Home Health Care
$15 copay; 

limited to 
100 visits/calendar year

100%; 
limited to 

100 visits/calendar year

Not covered 
unless authorized

100%; 
limited to 

100 visits/calendar year

Not covered 
unless authorized

• Skilled Nursing or 
Extended Care Facility

100%; 
limited to 

100 days/calendar year

100%; 
limited to 

100 days/calendar year

100% in a free 
standing facility; 

limited to 
100 days/calendar year

100%; 
limited to 

100 days/calendar year

100% in a free 
standing facility;

50% in a 
hospital unit

• Hospice Care 100% 100% Not covered 100% Not covered

• Chiropractic Services
$10 copay; 

limited to 
30 visits/calendar year

$25 copay; 
limited to 

12 visits/calendar year

50%; 
limited to 

12 visits/calendar year

100%; 
limited to 

20 visits/calendar year

50%; 
limited to 

20 visits/calendar year

• Acupuncture Not covered
$25 copay; 

limited to 
20 visits/calendar year

50%; 
limited to 

20 visits/calendar year
Not covered Not covered

Hearing

• Screening 100%; 
up to age 18 Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered

• Aid(s) Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered

Infertility

• Diagnosis See Plan 
Certificate Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered

• Treatment See Plan 
Certificate Not covered Not covered Not covered Not covered

Outpatient Rehabilitative 
Therapy Services

• Physical $15 copay $20 copay 50% 100% 50%

• Occupational $15 copay $20 copay 50% 100% 50%

• Speech $15 copay $20 copay 50% 100% 50%

The information on this page is intended to be a summary of your benefit provisions, limitations and exclusions. Please review your Summary Plan Description (SPD) 
for a complete summary of benefits.

Medical – Blue Shield (continued)
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The information on this page is intended to be a summary of your benefit provisions, limitations and exclusions. Please review your Summary Plan Description (SPD) 
for a complete summary of benefits.

____________________
* Out-of-Network Dentists are covered at the applicable coinsurance level of the PPO fee schedule.

The Court offers two comprehensive dental plans to choose from.

Delta Dental
Delta Dental is a PPO plan that pays for a portion of the 
bill once a deductible is met. You have the option to use 
any dentist of your choosing. If a participating dentist 
is selected, you will have lower out-of-pocket costs for 
services. Out-of-network dentists are paid based on the 
PPO fee schedule. You will be responsible for any amount 
not covered by Delta Dental.

MetLife
MetLife is a DHMO plan that has no deductible or annual 
maximum. You will pay copays for services from your 
participating dentist. You will pick one participating dentist 
to receive care from.

Dental

Type of Benefit
Delta Dental

MetLife
In-Network Out-of-Network *

Deductible $50 per person/$150 per family each calendar year $0

Calendar Year Max $2,500; 
Diagnostic and Preventive not subject to calendar year max Unlimited

Preventive

• Exams and Cleanings 100% 90% $0 copay

• Full Mouth X-Ray Series or Panoramic X-Ray 100% 90% $0 copay

• Bitewing X-Rays 100% 90% $0 copay

• Sealants 90% 90% $0 copay

Basic Restorative

• Anterior Composite (ADA 2330) 90% 90% $0 copay

• Molar Root Canal (ADA 3330) 50% 50% $95 copay

• Periodontic Treatment (ADA 4210) 50% 50% $50 copay

• Surgical Extraction (ADA 7210) 50% 50% $15 copay

Major Restorative

• Crown (ADA 2750) 50% 50%
$100 copay 

(additional metal or 
porcelain fee may apply)

• Denture (ADA 5110/5120) 50% 50% $125 copay

• Fixed Bridge Crown (ADA 6750) 50% 50%
$225 copay 

(additional metal or 
porcelain fee may apply)

Orthodontics

• Comprehensive Treatment 
(ADA 8070, 8080, 8090)

Children: $1,660 copay
Adults: $1,880 copay $1,450 copay
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Plan Benefits
Superior Vision

In-Network Out-of-Network

Frequency of Services

• Vision Exam Once every 12 months

• Eyeglass Lenses Once every 12 months

• Frames Once every 24 months

• Contact Lenses Once every 12 months

• Contact Lens Fitting Once every 12 months

Copay (per Insured)

• Vision Exam $5 N/A

• Eyeglass Lenses/Frames $0 N/A

• Contact Lens Fitting $35 N/A

Benefits and Allowances

• Vision Exam

– Ophthalmologist (M.D.) 100% $40 allowance

– Optometrist (O.D.) 100% $30 allowance

• Materials – Lenses

– Single Vision 100% $35 allowance

– Progressive Covered at lined trifocal level $60 allowance

– Bifocals 100% $50 allowance

– Trifocals 100% $60 allowance

– Lenticular 100% $95 allowance

• Materials – Frames (in lieu of contacts) $175 allowance $88 allowance

• Contacts (in lieu of frames)

– Non-Elective 100% $210 allowance

– Elective $130 allowance $100 allowance

– Standard Fitting 100% Not covered

– Specialty Fitting $50 allowance Not covered

The information on this page is intended to be a summary of your benefit provisions, limitations and exclusions. Please review your Summary Plan Description (SPD) 
for a complete summary of benefits.

The Court offers a vision plan with Superior Vision, which allows you to see any provider. With a contracted provider, you will 
have less out-of-pocket costs than with one outside of the network.

Vision
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The Court provides an Employee Assistance Program 
(EAP), which is administered by Magellan Health Services. 
Magellan provides confidential, professional short-term 
counseling services for you and your eligible family 
members. They also provide online services for Court 
employees.

Contacting Magellan
Visit magellanascend.com for Magellan’s online services. 
These services are intended to help you better manage 
a wide range of emotional health, working, and living 
challenges.

Or call Magellan directly at 800.424.4039 to make an 
appointment. This number is available 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week. All services are confidential and private.

Summary of EAP Plan
The program provides six (6) counseling sessions for 
each incident/issue per year for you and for each of your 
eligible dependents, at no cost to you. There are no copay, 
coinsurance, or deductible payments.

• Face-to-Face Counseling for marital/family concerns, 
alcohol/drug dependency, relationships, emotional 
problems, stress, and other issues.

•  Telephonic Counseling and/or Web-Video 
Consultations for a broad range of life management 
issues including:

– Legal Matters: Advice for family law, consumer 
issues, landlord/tenant disputes, personal injury, 
contracts, and criminal matters.

– Financial: Budgeting, credit issues, and financial 
planning.

– Child and Elder Care Assistance: Assessing 
needs, choosing resources, and exploring 
payment options.

– Identity Theft Services: Helps members recover 
from identity theft and learn how to avoid the 
problem in the future.

Employee Assistance Program

http://magellanascend.com
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These accounts permit employees to set money aside on 
a pre-tax basis, via payroll deduction, for eligible medical, 
dental, vision, or dependent care expenses not covered 
by insurance or other benefit plans. A new enrollment is 
required each year, even if you do not plan to change the 
amount(s) set aside. Except for a change in status event, 
the only time you can enroll, change, or stop your FSA is 
during Open Enrollment.

Employees enrolled in a Health Savings Account (HSA) are 
not eligible to contribute to a general purpose medical 
reimbursement account. However, they may contribute 
to a limited purpose medical reimbursement account for 
qualifying dental and vision expenses only. Please contact 
HR for more information.

Medical 
Reimbursement Account (MRA)
The MRA allows you to set aside pre-tax money to pay for 
out-of-pocket expenses incurred by you for yourself, your 
spouse or your eligible dependents up to age 26 that are 
not paid by your insurance or reimbursed by any other 
benefit plan. Expenses for children that do not qualify as 
an IRS dependent are generally not allowed, per Federal 
law. Expenses include, but are not limited to, insurance 
copays, deductibles, dental or vision expenses, pharmacy 
bills, and other similar out-of-pocket costs. Up to $550 can 
be carried over to the 2023 plan year for unused amounts. 
Any amount exceeding $550 will be forfeited. Effective 
January 1, 2011 over-the-counter (OTC) medications are 
no longer reimbursable without a doctor’s prescription. An 
important IRS exclusion is that treatments, services, and 
surgeries that are performed for cosmetic reasons are not 
reimbursable from a Flexible Spending Account.

Dependent Care 
Reimbursement Account (DCRA)
You may set aside pre-tax dollars to pay for qualified 
childcare or dependent care expenses that are necessary 
for you and your spouse to continue working or going 
to school full-time. A new dependent care contract for 
automatic reimbursement is also required every year.

Amount of Contribution

With the MRA, you may set aside up to $2,750 per 
calendar year to pay for qualified unreimbursed health 
expenses. For DCRA, you may defer up to $5,000 ($2,500 
if you are married and file separate tax returns) to pay for 
qualified dependent care expenses.

Claim Reimbursement

You have two options, use the prepaid benefits card or 
submit claim forms along with all receipts.

Using the prepaid card gives you an easy, automatic way to 
pay for qualified health care/benefits expenses. The Card 
lets you electronically access the pre-tax amounts set aside 
in your Flexible Spending Account. The card works like 
a MasterCard or Visa. When you have eligible expenses 
at a place that accepts MasterCard or Visa, simply use 
your card. The amount of your eligible purchases will be 
deducted, automatically, from your account.

If you don’t use the card, contact your plan administrator 
at the phone number on the back of your card to obtain a 
claim form.

Election Changes

The only time you may make any type of change in 
your deduction elections is during Open Enrollment, or 
within 30 days of a “change in status” event. Remember: 
IRS guidelines require that any change you request must 
be on account of, consistent with, and correspond to your 
“change in status” event. All changes are on a prospective 
basis only.

Social Security

Your election may reduce your Social Security contributions. 
However, the reduction is generally small. You may wish to 
contact your tax advisor prior to making your election.

Flexible Spending Accounts
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If You Leave Court Employment
Your contributions will cease when your employment ends. The Plan shall reimburse any eligible expenses which were incurred 
during your coverage in the Plan Year, less benefits already paid during the Plan Year. For Dependent Care expenses, the plan 
reimburses up to the amount of your contribution for benefits less benefits paid, and for medical expenses incurred prior to 
your employment termination up to the amount of your annual benefit less benefits paid.

Depending on the timing of the event and your remaining balance available to you, post employment expenses may be eligible 
for claim reimbursements if you elect to continue contributions on a post tax basis through COBRA, but only for the balance 
of the plan year. Information regarding COBRA options for the Medical Reimbursement Account, if you qualify, will be sent to 
your mailing address after your employment ends.

Flexible Spending Accounts (continued)
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Basic Life
The Court provides a Basic Life insurance and Accidental 
Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) benefit through Cigna, 
at no cost to the employee. The plan will pay the following 
amount to your beneficiary at the time of death:

• $15,000 for non-management employees

• $50,000 for management

The AD&D benefit is equal to the amount of the Basic 
Life coverage.

Don’t Forget to Name a Beneficiary

A beneficiary is the person or persons who will be paid 
if you die while covered by the plan. A person becomes 
your beneficiary only if you have assigned them through 
the ADP portal. If you are married and not naming your 
spouse as the beneficiary, the spouse must sign an 
acknowledgement.

Group Universal Life
Additional Voluntary Life coverage with 
a Cash Accumulation Fund Feature

All employees have the opportunity to gain greater financial 
security for you and your family members by supplementing 
your Court paid Basic Life coverage.

Coverage for employees can be purchased in units of 
$10,000. You can apply for as many units as you want up 
to a maximum of 5x your base salary rounded to the next 
$10,000 or $500,000, whichever is less.

To be eligible for coverage without evidence of insurability 
(health/or physical exam), up to the lesser of 3x your salary 
or $150,000, you must enroll yourself and your dependents 
within 30 days of being eligible for coverage.

• Spouse: Coverage for your spouse can be purchased 
in units of $5,000 up to a maximum of $100,000. 
Maximum guaranteed issue is $20,000.

• Children: Coverage for your child(ren) over 15 days 
old is available without evidence of insurability up 
to $10,000.

Basic Life and AD&D
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Long Term Disability
How do you pay for your mortgage, bills, food and other monthly expenses? If your paycheck stopped today, could you maintain 
your current lifestyle?

American Fidelity’s Long Term Disability Income Insurance is designed to help protect you if you become disabled and cannot 
work due to a covered Accidental Injury or Sickness.

Eligibility

Applicant’s eligibility for this program may be subject to 
insurability. It is your responsibility to see the American 
Fidelity representative once you have satisfied the Court’s 
waiting period.

How the Plan Works

If you become disabled due to a covered accident or 
sickness, Long Term Disability income insurance will pay 
up to 60% of your monthly income once you have satisfied 
the elimination period. Disability benefits will be payable 
up to the benefit period stated in your policy.

Benefits Begin

Accidental Injury and Sickness benefits will be payable 
as early as the 8th day of disability and continue up to 
Social Security Normal Retirement Age (SSNRA) for Injury 
and 5 years for Sickness.

Voluntary Benefits: American Fidelity

Coverage Feature What it Means to You

Maximum Benefit of 60% of Your 
Monthly Gross Income Protect up to 60% of your paycheck.

Accidental Injury and 5-Year Sickness Coverage You are covered in the case of a covered accident that occurs away 
from work or a covered sickness that causes you to be disabled.

Benefit Paid Directly to You, 
Regardless of Other Coverage Use the money however best fits your financial needs, regardless of other insurance.

Waiver of Premium Premiums are not required while you are disabled based on the length of your disability.

Age at Entry Your premiums will be based on the date your policy becomes effective.

Return to Work Part-Time If you return to work part time, you will receive a portion of your 
disability benefit in addition to your take home pay.

Affordable Premiums Your monthly premiums could be paid with only one hour of a week’s paycheck.

Payroll Deducted Enjoy the convenience of having your premiums deducted straight from your paycheck.

Accidental Death Benefit A $10,000 payout will be issued if one passes due to an 
accident within 90 days of a Covered Disability.

This is only a summary of benefits and is subject to conditions, restrictions, and limitations. Please read plan document for further details.
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Voluntary Benefits: American Fidelity (continued)

Accident Only
Whether a weekend warrior with an active lifestyle or the stay at-home type, accidents can happen anytime, anywhere, without 
warning. Being prepared for the unexpected can make all the difference.

American Fidelity’s Accident Only Insurance policy provides you a solution for those unforeseen accidents that life sometimes 
delivers. Our Accident Only Insurance is designed to help pay for the unexpected medical expenses an individual may incur for 
the treatment of covered injuries received in an accident.

Eligibility

It is your responsibility to see the American Fidelity 
representative once you have satisfied the Court’s 
waiting period.

How the Plan Works

Our Accident Only Insurance policy pays according to 
a wide-ranging schedule of benefits. In addition, the 
policy provides 24-hour coverage for accidents that occur 
both on and off the job. All benefits are only paid as a 
result of injuries received in an accident that occurs while 
coverage is in force. All treatment, procedures, and medical 
equipment must be diagnosed, recommended and treated 
by a physician. All benefits are paid once per covered 
person per covered accident unless otherwise specified in 
the Limitations and Exclusions section.*

Optional Accident Disability Income Rider

This rider covers you 24 hours a day and pays a monthly 
benefit amount when a covered person becomes totally 
disabled due to injuries received in a covered accident after 
the elimination period. The monthly benefit will be paid 
directly to you to use as you see fit.

Limitations, exclusions and waiting periods apply. Refer to your policy for complete details. This product is inappropriate for people who are eligible for Medicaid 
coverage. The company has the right to change premiums by class (AO-03 Series).

____________________
* Premium and amount of Benefits may vary dependent upon Plan selected.

Coverage Feature What it Means to You

Plan Options Choose the plan to meet your financial needs.

Four Choices of Coverage:
Individual, Individual and Spouse,
Individual and Child, or Family

Choose the coverage that fits your lifestyle.

Wide-Ranging Schedule of Benefits Covers all types of covered injuries.

Accident Emergency Treatment Benefit Receive a benefit when emergency treatment in a Physician’s office or 
emergency room occurs within 72 hours of a covered accident.

Benefit Paid Directly to You, 
to use as you see fit Use the benefit however best fits your financial needs.

Portable You own the policy. Take the coverage with you if you choose to 
leave your current job. Your premiums will remain the same.

24-Hour Coverage You are covered on or off the job.

Guaranteed Renewable Keep your coverage as long as premiums are paid as required.

Additional Coverage Options Enhance the base plan by adding an optional rider.

Payroll Deducted Enjoy the convenience of having your premiums deducted straight from your paycheck.
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Voluntary Benefits: American Fidelity (continued)

Cancer
A cancer diagnosis may be overwhelming. Even with a good medical plan, the out-of-pocket costs of cancer treatment, such as 
travel, childcare, and loss of income are considerable and may not be covered.

American Fidelity’s Cancer Insurance can help offer financial protection so you can focus your attention on fighting cancer. We 
offer plans that can help assist with out-of-pocket costs often associated with a cancer diagnosis.

Eligibility

It is your responsibility to see the American Fidelity 
representative once you have satisfied the Court’s 
waiting period.

How the Plan Works

Our plan is designed to help cover expenses if you are 
diagnosed with a covered cancer. With over 20 benefits 
available to you, this plan provides benefits for the 
treatment of cancer, transportation, hospitalization and 
more. We provide the money directly to you, to be used 
however you see fit.

Optional Riders

Enhance your base plan with the following riders:

• Critical Illness Rider. Includes a cancer benefit and a 
heart attack/stroke benefit.

• Hospital Intensive Care Unit Rider

Limitations, exclusions and waiting periods apply. Please refer to your policy for complete details. This product is inappropriate for people who are eligible for Medicaid 
coverage. The company has the right to change premiums by class. The premium and amount of benefits provided vary dependent upon the plan selected.

Coverage Feature What it Means to You

Plan Options Choose the plan to meet your financial needs.

Three Choices of Coverage:
Individual, Single Parent Family, or Family Choose the coverage that fits your lifestyle.

Wide-Ranging Schedule of Benefits Covers a wide range of treatments.

Benefit Paid Directly to You Use the money however best fits your financial needs.

Guaranteed Renewable Keep your coverage as long as premiums are paid as required.

Transportation and Lodging Receive benefits if you travel more than 50 miles from your home 
using the most direct route for covered treatment.

Portable You own the policy. Take the coverage with you if you choose to 
leave your current job. Your premiums will remain the same.

Additional Coverage Options Enhance the base plan by choosing from a selection of optional riders.

Payroll Deducted Enjoy the convenience of having your premiums deducted straight from your paycheck.
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Voluntary Benefits: Liberty Mutual

Auto Insurance
Coverage for you and your car, as well as motorcycle and specialty vehicle insurance.

Home Insurance
Coverage for your home and personal property.

Life Insurance
Coverage to meet your needs throughout life’s journey.

Limitations, exclusions and waiting periods apply. Please refer to your policy for complete details. This product is inappropriate for people who are eligible for Medicaid 
coverage. The company has the right to change premiums by class. The premium and amount of benefits provided vary dependent upon the plan selected.
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A governmental 457 (b) deferred compensation plan is a retirement savings plan that allows eligible employees to supplement 
any existing retirement and pension benefits by saving and investing before-tax dollars through a voluntary salary contribution. 
Contributions and any earnings on contributions are tax-deferred until money is withdrawn. Distributions are usually taken during 
retirement, when many participants are typically receiving less income and may be in a lower income tax bracket than while 
working. Distributions are subject to ordinary income tax. In addition to the traditional before-tax deferrals, the plan permits 
Roth deferrals on an after-tax basis.

The Court’s Deferred Compensation program is administered by Empower Retirement Services.

Eligibility
All permanent Superior Court employees are eligible.

Contributions
Contributions are set annually by the IRS. Check with 
Empower or Human Resources for maximum contribution 
limits for 2022 plan year.

There are two different options to catch up and contribute 
more during the final years of your career. “Special 
Catch-Up” allows participants in the three years prior to 
normal retirement age to contribute up to double the 
annual contribution limit. The additional amount you may 
be able to contribute under the Special Catch-Up option 
will depend upon the amounts that you were eligible to 
contribute in previous years but did not.

Employees turning age 50 or older in 2022 may contribute 
an additional amount set by the IRS. You may not use the 
Special Catch-Up provision and the Age 50+ Catch-Up 
provision in the same year.

Rollovers
If you leave Court employment you may roll over your 
account balance to another 401(a), 401(k), 403(b) or an 
eligible governmental 457(b) plan if your new employer’s 
plan accepts such rollovers. You may also roll over your 
account balance to an IRA.

Distributions
Qualifying distributions include:

• Retirement

• Permanent Disability

• Unforeseeable emergency as defined by the IRS

• Severance of employment as defined by the IRS

• Attainment of age 70½

• Death (upon which your beneficiary receives your 
benefits)

• Transfer to purchase service credits

Loans
Your plan allows you to borrow the lesser of $50,000 or 50% 
of your total account balance. The minimum loan amount is 
$1,000 and you have up to five years to repay your loan-up 
to 15 years if the money is used to purchase your primary 
residence.

Taxes
Contributions are taken out of your paycheck on a pre-tax 
basis. Distributions are taxable as ordinary income during 
the years in which they are distributed or made available to 
you or your beneficiary(ies).

Deferred Compensation
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Value Added Services

The following value added services are available to all 
employees enrolled in the corresponding carrier’s coverage.

Kaiser Permanente
Video Visits

The next time you schedule an appointment at Kaiser 
Permanente, you may be offered a video visit with your 
doctor. All you need is a computer with a high-speed internet 
connection and a webcam or smartphone mobile device 
using the latest version of the KP Preventive Care App.

Advice Nurse

Get the care you need the way you want it. No matter 
which option you choose, your providers can see your 
health history, update your medical record, and give 
you personalized care that fits your life. Call us anytime 
at 866.454.8855 to make an appointment or speak to an 
advise nurse.

ChooseHealthy

The road to good health can take you well beyond your 
doctor's office. With Kaiser Permanente, you get a wide range 
of wellness resources. You can even pay lower fees on many 
non-Kaiser Permanente services designed to help you get 
active and stay healthy. For more information about services 
available through ChooseHealthy call 877.335.2746 or visit 
kp.org/choosehealthy.

Blue Shield of California
Teladoc

Teladoc is a new and convenient way to access quality 
care. U.S. board-certified doctors are available 24/7/365 
to resolve many of your non-emergency medical issues 
through phone or video consults. Visit teladoc.com/bsc, 
complete the required information and click on Set up 
account. You can also call Teladoc at 800.835.2362.

NurseHelp 24/7

Call NurseHelp 24/7 toll-free at 877.304.0504 and talk with a 
registered nurse anytime you have health-related questions 
or visit blueshieldca.com/nursehelp for an online chat option. 
Experienced nurses can help you figure out how you can 
care for yourself, evaluate treatment options and help you 
determine whether to see a doctor. All at no extra charge.

LifeReferrals 24/7

Everyone can use a hand sometimes, and LifeReferrals 24/7 
offers convenient support to help you meet life’s challenges. 
A simple phone call connects you with a team of 
experienced professionals ready to assist you with a 
wide range of personal, family, and work issues. You can 
call LifeReferrals 24/7 toll-free at 800.985.2405. Or, visit 
lifereferrals.com and enter the access code: bsc.

Identity Theft Protection

As an eligible Blue Shield medical plan member, you can 
now get identity protection services such as identity repair 
assistance, identity theft insurance and credit monitoring 
for you and your covered family members. It makes good 
sense, and it’s no charge. You can access these services by 
calling 866.274.3891 or experianidworks.com/blueshieldca. 
When creating your account, you will need to provide the 
activation code: BCBSCALI20.

Fitness Your Way

Get Healthy and feel good on your own terms with Fitness Your 
Way. It is a flexible, affordable, and accessible way to adopt 
a healthy lifestyle and remain committed it. The program 
offers you the flexibility to work out at any network fitness 
location, on your time and a budget that you can live with. 
Enroll by going to fitnessyourway.tivityhealth.com/bsc or 
by calling 833.283.8387.

http://kp.org/choosehealthy
http://teladoc.com/bsc
http://blueshieldca.com/nursehelp
http://lifereferrals.com
http://experianidworks.com/blueshieldca.
http://fitnessyourway.tivityhealth.com/bsc
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Value Added Services (continued)

Cigna
Secure Travel

Emergencies can happen while traveling, but help is only 
a phone call away 24/7/365. Cigna Secure Travel offers 
pre-trip planning, assistance while traveling and emergency 
medical transportation benefits for covered persons 
traveling 100 miles or more from home. To learn more 
call 888.226.4567.

My Secure Advantage

Cigna knows that financial issues are one of the leading 
causes of stress in America.* That’s why we offer a full-service 
financial wellness program. My Secure AdvantageTM can 
help support the financial health of your household, at no 
additional cost to you. Visit cigna.mysecureadvantage.com 
or call 888.724.2262 for more details.

Healthy Rewards

You value your health enough to make smart choices and 
the Cigna Healthy Rewards program can help with discounts 
on a wide variety of health and wellness programs and 
services. No referrals. No claim forms. The Healthy Rewards 
program includes a nationwide network of brand name as 
well as smaller local participating providers. To start saving 
today, visit Cigna.com/rewards (password: savings) or 
call 800.258.3312.

Delta Dental
Cost Estimator Tool

Delta Dental’s new online tool helps enrollees 
preview dental expenses. Members can generate 
cost estimates, review accruals toward deductibles 
and maximums, display cost differences between 
in-network and out-of-network dentists. Visit 
www.deltadental.com/us/en/cost-estimator.html for more 
information.

Magellan
Embrace lifelong wellness by taking steps toward feeling 
your best while improving your health and wellness. Set 
daily goals, track progress, read articles, and find out more 
information by visiting us online at magellanascend.com.

____________________
* Stress in America™: Coping with Change American Psychological 

Association, January, 2017

http://cigna.mysecureadvantage.com
http://Cigna.com/rewards
http://www.deltadental.com/us/en/cost-estimator.html
http://magellanascend.com
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Important NoticesImportant Notices 

Superior Court of California, County of Fresno 1 

Newborns’ and Mothers’ 
Health Protection Act (NMHPA) 
Benefits for pregnancy hospital stay (for delivery) for a mother and 
her newborn generally may not be restricted to less than 48 hours 
following a vaginal delivery or 96 hours following a cesarean 
section. Also, any utilization review requirements for inpatient 
hospital admissions will not apply for this minimum length of stay 
and early discharge is only permitted if the attending health care 
provider, in consultation with the mother, decides an earlier 
discharge is appropriate. 

Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act 
(WHCRA) Annual Notice 
Your plan, as required by the Women’s Health and Cancer Rights 
Act of 1998, provides benefits for mastectomy-related services 
including all stages of reconstruction and surgery to achieve 
symmetry between the breasts, prostheses, and complications 
resulting from a mastectomy, including lymphedema. For more 
information, you should review the Summary Plan Description or 
call your Plan Administrator at 559.457.2050 for more information. 

Patient Protections 
The medical plan requires the designation of a primary care 
provider. You have the right to designate any primary care provider 
who participates in our network and who is available to accept you 
or your family members. Until you make this designation, the plan 
will designate one for you. For information on how to select a 
primary care provider, and for a list of the participating primary care 
providers, please contact the plan carrier directly. 

For children, you may designate a pediatrician as the primary care 
provider. 

You do not need prior authorization from the plan or any other 
person (including a primary care provider) in order to obtain access 
to obstetrical or gynecological care from a health care professional 
in our network who specializes in obstetrics or gynecology. The 
health care professional, however, may be required to comply with 
certain procedures, including obtaining prior authorization for 
certain services, following a pre-approved treatment plan, or 
procedures for making referrals. For a list of participating health 
care professionals who specialize in obstetrics or gynecology, 
please contact the plan carrier directly. 

Networks/Claims/Appeals 
The major medical plans described in this booklet have provider 
networks with Blue Shield of California and Kaiser Permanente. 
The listing of provider networks will be available to you 
automatically and free of charge. A list of network providers can be 
accessed immediately by using the Internet address found in the 
Summary of Benefits and Coverage that relates to the Plan. You 
have a right to appeal denials of claims, and a right to a response 
within a reasonable amount of time. Claims that are not submitted 
within a reasonable time may be denied. Please review your 
Summary Plan Description or contact the Plan Administrator for 
more details. 

COBRA Continuation Coverage 
This notice has important information about your right to COBRA 
continuation coverage, which is a temporary extension of coverage 
under the Plan. This notice explains COBRA continuation 
coverage, when it may become available to you and your 
family, and what you need to do to protect your right to get it. 
When you become eligible for COBRA, you may also become 
eligible for other coverage options that may cost less than COBRA 
continuation coverage. 

The right to COBRA continuation coverage was created by federal 
law, the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985 
(COBRA). COBRA continuation coverage can become available to 
you and other members of your family when group health coverage 
would otherwise end. For more information about your rights and 
obligations under the Plan and federal law, you should review the 
Plan’s Summary Plan Description or contact the 
Plan Administrator. 

You may have other options available to you when you lose 
group health coverage. For example, you may be eligible to buy 
an individual plan through the Health Insurance Marketplace. By 
enrolling in coverage through the Marketplace, you may qualify for 
lower costs on your monthly premiums and lower out-of-pocket 
costs. Additionally, you may qualify for a 30-day special enrollment 
period for another group health plan for which you are eligible (such 
as a spouse’s plan), even if that plan generally does not accept late 
enrollees. 
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Important Notices (continued)Important Notices 
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WHAT IS COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE? 

COBRA continuation coverage is a continuation of Plan coverage 
when it would otherwise end because of a life event. This is also 
called a “Qualifying Event.” Specific Qualifying Events are listed 
later in this notice. After a Qualifying Event, COBRA continuation 
coverage must be offered to each person who is a “Qualified 
Beneficiary.” You, your spouse, and your dependent children could 
become Qualified Beneficiaries if coverage under the Plan is lost 
because of the Qualifying Event. Under the Plan, Qualified 
Beneficiaries who elect COBRA continuation coverage must pay 
for COBRA continuation coverage. 

If you are an employee, you will become a Qualified Beneficiary if 
you lose coverage under the Plan because of the following 
Qualifying Events: 

• Your hours of employment are reduced, or 
• Your employment ends for any reason other than your 

gross misconduct. 

If you are the spouse of an employee, you will become a Qualified 
Beneficiary if you lose your coverage under the Plan because of 
the following Qualifying Events: 

• Your spouse dies; 
• Your spouse’s hours of employment are reduced; 
• Your spouse’s employment ends for any reason other than 

their gross misconduct; 
• Your spouse becomes entitled to Medicare benefits (under 

Part A, Part B, or both); or, 
• You become divorced or legally separated from your 

spouse. 

Your dependent children will become Qualified Beneficiaries if they 
lose coverage under the Plan because of the following Qualifying 
Events: 

• The parent-employee dies; 
• The parent-employee’s employment ends for any reason 

other than their gross misconduct; 
• The parent-employee becomes entitled to Medicare 

benefits (Part A, Part B, or both); 
• The parents become divorced or legally separated; or, 
• The child stops being eligible for coverage under the Plan 

as a “dependent child.” 

WHEN IS COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE AVAILABLE? 

The Plan will offer COBRA continuation coverage to Qualified 
Beneficiaries only after the Plan Administrator has been notified 
that a Qualifying Event has occurred. The employer must notify the 
Plan Administrator of the following Qualifying Events: 

• The end of employment or reduction of hours of 
employment; 

• Death of the employee; or, 
• The employee’s becoming entitled to Medicare benefits 

(under Part A, Part B, or both). 

For all other Qualifying Events (e.g., divorce or legal 
separation of the employee and spouse, or a dependent 
child’s losing eligibility for coverage as a dependent child, 
etc.), you must notify the Plan Administrator within 60 days 
after the Qualifying Event occurs. You must provide this notice 
to your employer. 

Life insurance, accidental death and dismemberment benefits, and 
weekly income or long-term disability benefits (if part of the 
employer’s plan), are not eligible for continuation under COBRA. 

NOTICE AND ELECTION PROCEDURES 

Each type of notice or election to be provided by a covered 
employee or a Qualified Beneficiary under this COBRA 
Continuation Coverage Section must be in writing, must be signed 
and dated, and must be mailed or hand-delivered to the 
Plan Administrator, properly addressed, or as otherwise permitted 
by the COBRA administrator, no later than the date specified in the 
election form, and properly submitted to the Plan Administrator. 

Each notice must include all of the following items: the covered 
employee’s full name, address, phone number and Social Security 
Number; the full name, address, phone number and Social Security 
Number of each affected dependent, as well as each dependent’s 
relationship to the covered employee; a description of the 
Qualifying Event or disability determination that has occurred; the 
date the Qualifying Event or disability determination occurred; a 
copy of the Social Security Administration’s written disability 
determination, if applicable; and the name of this Plan. The 
Plan Administrator may establish specific forms that must be used 
to provide a notice or election. 

ELECTION AND ELECTION PERIOD 

COBRA continuation coverage may be elected during the period 
beginning on the date Plan coverage would otherwise terminate 
due to a Qualifying Event and ending on the later of the following: 
(1) 60 days after coverage ends due to a Qualifying Event, or 
(2) 60 days after the notice of the COBRA continuation coverage 
rights is provided to the Qualified Beneficiary. 
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If, during the election period, a Qualified Beneficiary waives 
COBRA continuation coverage rights, the waiver can be revoked at 
any time before the end of the election period. Revocation of the 
waiver will be an election of COBRA continuation coverage. 
However, if a waiver is revoked, coverage need not be provided 
retroactively (that is, from the date of the loss of coverage until the 
waiver is revoked). Waivers and revocations of waivers are 
considered to be made on the date they are sent to the employer 
or Plan Administrator. 

HOW IS COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE PROVIDED? 

Once the Plan Administrator receives notice that a Qualifying Event 
has occurred, COBRA continuation coverage will be offered to 
each of the Qualified Beneficiaries. Each Qualified Beneficiary will 
have an independent right to elect COBRA continuation coverage. 
Covered employees may elect COBRA continuation coverage on 
behalf of their spouses, and parents may elect COBRA 
continuation on behalf of their dependent children. 

COBRA continuation coverage is a temporary continuation of 
coverage that generally lasts for 18 months due to employment 
termination or reduction of hours of work. Certain Qualifying 
Events, or a second Qualifying Event during the initial period of 
coverage, may permit a beneficiary to receive a maximum of 36 
months of coverage. 

DISABILITY EXTENSION OF THE 18-MONTH PERIOD OF 
COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE 

If you or anyone in your family covered under the Plan is 
determined by Social Security to be disabled and you notify the 
Plan Administrator in a timely fashion, you and your entire family 
may be entitled to get up to an additional 11 months of COBRA 
continuation coverage, for a maximum of 29 months. This disability 
would have to have started at some time before the 60th day of 
COBRA continuation coverage and must last at least until the end 
of the 18-month period of COBRA continuation coverage. (See 
Notice and Election Procedures.) 

 
1 https://www.medicare.gov/sign-up-change-plans/how-do-i-get-parts-a-
b/part-a-part-b-sign-up-periods 

SECOND QUALIFYING EVENT EXTENSION OF 18-MONTH 
PERIOD OF COBRA CONTINUATION COVERAGE 

If your family experiences another Qualifying Event during the 18 
months of COBRA continuation of coverage, the spouse and 
dependent children in your family can get up to 18 additional 
months of COBRA continuation of coverage, for a maximum of 36 
months, if the Plan is properly notified about the second Qualifying 
Event. This extension may be available to the spouse and any 
dependent children receiving COBRA continuation of coverage if 
the employee or former employee dies; becomes entitled to 
Medicare (Part A, Part B, or both); gets divorced or legally 
separated; or if the dependent child stops being eligible under the 
Plan as a dependent child. This extension is only available if the 
second Qualifying Event would have caused the spouse or the 
dependent child to lose coverage under the Plan had the first 
Qualifying Event not occurred. (See Notice and Election 
Procedures.) 

OTHER OPTIONS BESIDES COBRA CONTINUATION 
COVERAGE 

Instead of enrolling in COBRA continuation coverage, there may be 
other coverage options for you and your family through the Health 
Insurance Marketplace, Medicaid, Children’s Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP) or other group health plan coverage options (such 
as a spouse’s plan) through what is called a “special enrollment 
period.” Some of these options may cost less than COBRA 
continuation coverage. You can learn more about many of these 
options at www.healthcare.gov. 

ENROLLMENT IN MEDICARE INSTEAD OF COBRA 

In general, if you don’t enroll in Medicare Part A or B when you are 
first eligible because you are still employed, after the Medicare 
initial enrollment period, you have an 8-month special enrollment 
period1 to sign up for Medicare Part A or B, beginning on the earlier 
of: 

• The month after your employment ends; or 
• The month after group health plan coverage based on 

current employment ends. 
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If you don’t enroll in Medicare and elect COBRA continuation 
coverage instead, you may have to pay a Part B late enrollment 
penalty and you may have a gap in coverage if you decide you want 
Part B later. If you elect COBRA continuation coverage and later 
enroll in Medicare Part A or B before the COBRA continuation 
coverage ends, the Plan may terminate your continuation 
coverage. However, if Medicare Part A or B is effective on or before 
the date of the COBRA election, COBRA coverage may not be 
discontinued on account of Medicare entitlement, even if you enroll 
in the other part of Medicare after the date of the election of COBRA 
coverage. 

If you are enrolled in both COBRA continuation coverage and 
Medicare, Medicare will generally pay first (primary payer) and 
COBRA continuation coverage will pay second. Certain plans may 
pay as if secondary to Medicare, even if you are not enrolled in 
Medicare. 

For more information visit https://www.medicare.gov/medicare-
and-you. 

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS 

For more information about the Marketplace, visit 
www.healthcare.gov. 

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), 
through the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), has 
jurisdiction with respect to the COBRA continuation coverage 
requirements of the Public Health Service Act (PHSA) that apply to 
state and local government employers, including counties, 
municipalities, public school districts, and the group health plans 
that they sponsor (Public Sector COBRA). COBRA can be a 
daunting and complex area of federal law. If you have any 
questions or issues regarding Public Sector COBRA, you may 
contact the Plan Administrator or email HHS at 
phig@cms.hhs.gov. 

KEEP YOUR PLAN INFORMED OF ADDRESS CHANGES 

To protect your family’s rights, let the Plan Administrator know 
about any changes in the addresses of family members. You 
should also keep a copy, for your records, of any notices you send 
to the Plan Administrator. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF COVERAGE 

COBRA continuation coverage, if elected within the period allowed 
for such election, is effective retroactively to the date coverage 
would otherwise have terminated due to the Qualifying Event, and 
the Qualified Beneficiary will be charged for coverage in this 
retroactive period. 

COST OF CONTINUATION COVERAGE 

The cost of COBRA continuation coverage will not exceed 102% of 
the Plan’s full cost of coverage during the same period for similarly 
situated non-COBRA beneficiaries to whom a Qualifying Event has 
not occurred. The “full cost” includes any part of the cost which is 
paid by the employer for non-COBRA beneficiaries. 

The initial payment must be made within 45 days after the date of 
the COBRA election by the Qualified Beneficiary. Payment must 
cover the period of coverage from the date of the COBRA election 
retroactive to the date of loss of coverage due to the Qualifying 
Event (or date a COBRA waiver was revoked, if applicable). The 
first and subsequent payments must be submitted and made 
payable to the Plan Administrator or COBRA Administrator. 
Payments for successive periods of coverage are due on the first 
of each month thereafter, with a 30-day grace period allowed for 
payment. Where an employee organization or any other entity that 
provides Plan benefits on behalf of the Plan Administrator permits 
a billing grace period greater than the 30 days stated above, such 
period shall apply in lieu of the 30 days. Payment is considered to 
be made on the date it is sent to the Plan or Plan Administrator. 

The Plan will allow the payment for COBRA continuation coverage 
to be made in monthly installments, but the Plan can also allow for 
payment at other intervals. The Plan is not obligated to send 
monthly premium notices. 

The Plan will notify the Qualified Beneficiary, in writing, of any 
termination of COBRA coverage based on the criteria stated in this 
Section that occurs prior to the end of the Qualified Beneficiary’s 
applicable maximum coverage period. Notice will be given within 
30 days of the Plan’s decision to terminate. 

Such notice shall include the reason that continuation coverage 
has terminated earlier than the end of the maximum coverage 
period for such Qualifying Event and the date of termination of 
continuation coverage. 

See the Summary Plan Description or contact the 
Plan Administrator for more information. 
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Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs) –  
Termination and Claims Submission 
Deadlines 
Note: If you lose eligibility for any reason during the Plan Year, your 
contributions to your Health and/or Dependent Care FSAs will end 
as of the date your eligibility terminates. You may submit claims for 
reimbursement from your FSAs for expenses incurred during the 
Plan Year prior to your eligibility termination. You must submit 
claims for reimbursement from your Health and/or Dependent Care 
FSAs no later than 90 days after the date your eligibility terminates. 
Any balance remaining in your FSAs will be forfeited after claims 
submitted prior to this date have been processed. 

Special Enrollment Rights Notice 

CHANGES TO YOUR HEALTH PLAN ELECTIONS 

Once you make your benefits elections, they cannot be changed 
until the next Open Enrollment. Open Enrollment is held once a 
year. 

If you are declining enrollment for yourself or your dependents 
(including your spouse) because of other health insurance or group 
health plan coverage, you may be able to enroll yourself and your 
dependents in this plan if there is a loss of other coverage. 
However, you must request enrollment no later than 30 days after 
that other coverage ends. 

If you declined coverage while Medicaid or the Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP) is in effect, you may be able to enroll 
yourself and/or your dependents in this plan if you or your 
dependents lose eligibility for that other coverage. However, you 
must request enrollment no later than 60 days after Medicaid or 
CHIP coverage ends. 

If you or your dependents become eligible for Medicaid or CHIP 
premium assistance, you may be able to enroll yourself and/or your 
dependents into this plan. However, you must request enrollment 
no later than 60 days after the determination for eligibility for such 
assistance. 

If you have a change in family status such as a new dependent 
resulting from marriage, birth, adoption or placement for adoption, 
divorce (including legal separation and annulment), death, or 
Qualified Medical Child Support Order, you may be able to enroll 
yourself and / or your dependents. However, you must request 
enrollment no later than 30 days after the marriage, birth, adoption 
or placement for adoption or divorce (including legal separation and 
annulment). 

For information about Special Enrollment Rights, please contact: 

Superior Court of California, County of Fresno 
Human Resources 
559.457.2050 

Medicare Part D – Important Notice 
About Your Prescription Drug Coverage 
and Medicare 
Please read this notice carefully and keep it where you can find it. 
This notice has information about your current prescription drug 
coverage with Superior Court of California, County of Fresno and 
about your options under Medicare’s prescription drug coverage. 
This information can help you decide whether or not you want to 
join a Medicare drug plan. If you are considering joining, you should 
compare your current coverage, including which drugs are covered 
at what cost, with the coverage and costs of the plans offering 
Medicare prescription drug coverage in your area. Information 
about where you can get help to make decisions about your 
prescription drug coverage is at the end of this notice. 

There are two important things you need to know about your 
current coverage and Medicare’s prescription drug coverage: 

• Medicare prescription drug coverage became 
available in 2006 to everyone with Medicare. You can 
get this coverage if you join a Medicare Prescription 
Drug Plan or join a Medicare Advantage Plan (like an 
HMO or PPO) that offers prescription drug coverage. 
All Medicare drug plans provide at least a standard 
level of coverage set by Medicare. Some plans may 
also offer more coverage for a higher monthly 
premium. 

• The Superior Court of California, County of Fresno has 
determined that the prescription drug coverage 
offered by Blue Shield of California and Kaiser 
Permanente are, on average for all plan participants, 
expected to pay out as much as standard Medicare 
prescription drug coverage pays and is therefore 
considered Creditable Coverage. Because your 
existing coverage is Creditable Coverage, you can 
keep this coverage and not pay a higher premium (a 
penalty) if you later decide to join a Medicare drug 
plan. 
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WHEN CAN YOU JOIN A MEDICARE DRUG PLAN? 

You can join a Medicare drug plan when you first become eligible 
for Medicare and each year from October 15th to December 7th. 

However, if you lose your current creditable prescription drug 
coverage, through no fault of your own, you will also be eligible for 
a two (2) month Special Enrollment Period (SEP) to join a Medicare 
drug plan. 

WHAT HAPPENS TO YOUR CURRENT COVERAGE IF YOU 
DECIDE TO JOIN A MEDICARE DRUG PLAN? 

If you decide to join a Medicare drug plan, your current Superior 
Court of California, County of Fresno coverage will not be affected. 
If you keep this coverage and elect Medicare, the Superior Court 
of California, County of Fresno coverage will coordinate with Part 
D coverage. 

If you do decide to join a Medicare drug plan and drop your current 
Superior Court of California, County of Fresno coverage, be aware 
that you and your dependents will be able to get this coverage 
back. 

WHEN WILL YOU PAY A HIGHER PREMIUM (PENALTY) TO 
JOIN A MEDICARE DRUG PLAN? 

You should also know that if you drop or lose your current coverage 
with Superior Court of California, County of Fresno and don’t join a 
Medicare drug plan within 63 continuous days after your current 
coverage ends, you may pay a higher premium (a penalty) to join 
a Medicare drug plan later. 

If you go 63 continuous days or longer without creditable 
prescription drug coverage, your monthly premium may go up by 
at least 1% of the Medicare base beneficiary premium per month 
for every month that you did not have that coverage. For example, 
if you go nineteen months without Creditable Coverage, your 
premium may consistently be at least 19% higher than the 
Medicare base beneficiary premium. You may have to pay this 
higher premium (i.e., a penalty) as long as you have Medicare 
prescription drug coverage. In addition, you may have to wait until 
the following October to join. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THIS NOTICE OR YOUR 
CURRENT PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE 

Contact the person listed below for further information. Note: You 
will get this notice each year. You will also get it before the next 
period you can join a Medicare drug plan, and if this coverage 
through Superior Court of California, County of Fresno changes. 
You also may request a copy of this notice at any time. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR OPTIONS UNDER 
MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE 

More detailed information about Medicare plans that offer 
prescription drug coverage is in the “Medicare & You” handbook. 
You will get a copy of the handbook in the mail every year from 
Medicare. You may also be contacted directly by Medicare drug 
plans. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT MEDICARE 
PRESCRIPTION DRUG COVERAGE 

• Visit www.medicare.gov 
• Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (see 

your copy of the Medicare & You handbook for their 
telephone number) for personalized help. 

• Call 800.MEDICARE (800.633.4227). TTY users should 
call 877.486.2048. 

If you have limited income and resources, extra help paying for 
Medicare prescription drug coverage is available. For information 
about this extra help, visit Social Security on the web at 
www.socialsecurity.gov, or call them at 800.772.1213 
(TTY 800.325.0778). 

REMEMBER 

Keep this Creditable Coverage notice. If you decide to join one of 
the Medicare drug plans, you may be required to provide a copy of 
this notice when you join to show whether or not you have 
maintained Creditable Coverage and, therefore, whether or not you 
are required to pay a higher premium (a penalty). 

Date: October 15, 2021 

Name of Entity / Sender: Superior Court of California,        
County of Fresno 

Contact: Human Resources 

Address: 1100 Van Ness Avenue 
 Fresno, CA  93724 

Phone: 559.457.2050 

Availability of Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA) Notice of Privacy Practices 
The Superior Court of California, County of Fresno Group Health 
Plan (Plan) maintains a Notice of Privacy Practices that provides 
information to individuals whose protected health information (PHI) 
will be used or maintained by the Plan. If you would like a copy of 
the Plan’s Notice of Privacy Practices, please contact Human 
Resources at 559.457.2050. 
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Health Insurance Marketplace Coverage Options and Your Health Coverage 
PART A: GENERAL INFORMATION 
This notice provides you with information about Superior Court of California, County of Fresno in the event you wish to apply for coverage on 
the Health Insurance Marketplace. All the information you need from Human Resources is listed in this notice. If you wish to have someone 
assist you in the application process or have questions about subsidies that you may be eligible to receive, (for California residents only) you 
can contact KeenanDirect at 855.653.3626 or at www.KeenanDirect.com, or (for everyone) contact the Health Insurance Marketplace directly at 
www.Healthcare.gov. 

WHAT IS THE HEALTH INSURANCE MARKETPLACE? 

The Marketplace is designed to help you find health insurance that meets your needs and fits your budget by offering “one-stop shopping” to 
find and compare private health insurance options. You may also be eligible for a tax credit that lowers your monthly premium right away. Open 
Enrollment for health insurance coverage through Covered California will begin November 1, 2021, and is anticipated to end on January 31, 
2022. Open Enrollment for other states will begin on November 1 and close on December 15 of each year. Some states have expanded the 
open enrollment period beyond December 15, 2021 for coverage to begin in 2022. Notably, Covered California continues its special enrollment 
period for coverage beginning in 2021 to December 31, 2021. 

CAN I SAVE MONEY ON MY HEALTH INSURANCE PREMIUMS IN THE MARKETPLACE? 

You may qualify to save money and lower your monthly premium, but only if your employer does not offer you coverage, offers medical coverage 
that is not “Affordable,” or does not provide “Minimum Value.” If the lowest cost plan from your employer that would cover you (and not any other 
members of your family) is more than 9.61% (for 2022) of your household income for the year, then that coverage is not Affordable. Moreover, 
if the medical coverage offered covers less than 60% of the benefits costs, then the plan does not provide Minimum Value. 

DOES EMPLOYER HEALTH COVERAGE AFFECT ELIGIBILITY FOR PREMIUM SAVINGS THROUGH THE MARKETPLACE? 

Yes. If you have an offer of medical coverage from your employer that is both Affordable and provides Minimum Value, you will not be eligible 
for a tax credit through the Marketplace and may wish to enroll in your employer’s medical plan. 

Note: If you purchase a health plan through the Marketplace instead of accepting health coverage offered by your employer, then you may lose 
the employer contribution (if any) to the employer-offered medical coverage. Also, this employer contribution, as well as your employee 
contribution to employer-offered coverage, is often excluded from income for federal and state income tax purposes. Your payments for coverage 
through the Marketplace are made on an after-tax basis. 

PART B: EXCHANGE APPLICATION INFORMATION 
In the event you wish to apply for coverage on the Exchange, all the information you need from Human Resources is listed below. If you are 
located in California and wish to have someone assist you in the application process or have questions about subsidies that you may be eligible 
to receive, you can contact KeenanDirect at 855.653.3626 or at www.KeenanDirect.com. 

3. Employer name 
 Superior Court of California, County of Fresno 

4. Employer Identification Number (EIN) 
 77-0557392 

5. Employer address 
 1100 Van Ness Avenue 

6. Employer phone number 
 559.457.2050 

7. City 
 Fresno 

8. State 
 CA 

9. ZIP code 
 93724 

10. Who can we contact about employee health coverage at this job? 
 Human Resources Department or ADP Benefit Service Center 

11. Phone number (if different from above) 
 ADP Benefit Service Center:  855.547.8508 

12. Email address 
 HR@fresno.courts.ca.gov  
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Premium Assistance Under Medicaid 
and the Children’s Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP) 
If you or your children are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP and you’re 
eligible for health coverage from your employer, your State may 
have a premium assistance program that can help pay for 
coverage, using funds from their Medicaid or CHIP programs. If you 
or your children aren’t eligible for Medicaid or CHIP, you won’t be 
eligible for these premium assistance programs, but you may be 
able to buy individual insurance coverage through the Health 
Insurance Marketplace. For more information, visit 
www.healthcare.gov. 

If you or your dependents are already enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP 
and you live in a State listed below, contact your State Medicaid or 
CHIP office to find out if premium assistance is available. 

If you or your dependents are NOT currently enrolled in Medicaid 
or CHIP, and you think you or any of your dependents might be 
eligible for either of these programs, contact your State Medicaid 
or CHIP office or dial 877.KIDS.NOW or www.insurekidsnow.gov to 
find out how to apply. If you qualify, ask your State if it has a 
program that might help you pay the premiums for an employer-
sponsored plan. 

If you or your dependents are eligible for premium assistance under 
Medicaid or CHIP, as well as eligible under your employer plan, 
your employer must allow you to enroll in your employer plan if you 
aren’t already enrolled. This is called a “special enrollment” 
opportunity, and you must request coverage within 60 days of 
being determined eligible for premium assistance. If you have 
questions about enrolling in your employer plan, contact the 
Department of Labor at www.askebsa.dol.gov or call 
866.444.EBSA (3272). 

If you live in one of the following States, you may be eligible for 
assistance paying your employer health plan premiums. The 
following list of states is current as of July 31, 2021. Contact your 
State for more information on eligibility. 

ALABAMA – Medicaid 
Website: http://myalhipp.com/ 
Phone: 855.692.5447 

ALASKA – Medicaid 
The AK Health Insurance Premium Payment Program 
Website: http://myakhipp.com/ 
Phone: 866.251.4861 
Email: CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com 
Medicaid Eligibility: 
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/medicaid/default.aspx 

ARKANSAS – Medicaid 
Website: http://myarhipp.com/ 
Phone: 855.MyARHIPP (855.692.7447) 

CALIFORNIA – Medicaid 
Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program Website: 
http://dhcs.ca.gov/hipp  
Phone: 916.445.8322 
Email: hipp@dhcs.ca.gov 

COLORADO – Health First Colorado 
Colorado’s Medicaid Program & Child Health Plan Plus (CHIP+) 
Healthy First Colorado Website: 
https://www.healthfirstcolorado.com/ 
Health First Colorado Member Contact Center: 800.221.3943 
TTY: Colorado relay 711 
CHP+: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/child-health-plan-
plus 
CHP+ Customer Service: 800.359.1991  
TTY: Colorado relay 711 
Health Insurance Buy-In Program (HIBI): 
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/health-insurance-buy-
program  
HIBI Customer Service: 855.692.6442 

FLORIDA – Medicaid 
Website: 
http://www.flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/hi
pp/index.html   
Phone: 877.357.3268 

GEORGIA – Medicaid 
Website: http://medicaid.georgia.gov/health-insurance-premium-
payment-program-hipp/ 
Phone: 678.564.1162, ext. 2131 

INDIANA – Medicaid 
Healthy Indiana Plan for low-income adults 19-64 
Website: http://www.in.gov/fssa/hip/ 
Phone: 877.438.4479 
All other Medicaid 
Website: https://www.in.gov/medicaid/  
Phone: 800.457.4584 

IOWA – Medicaid and CHIP (Hawki) 
Medicaid Website: https://dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members  
Medicaid Phone: 800.338.8366 
HIPP Website: 
https://dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members/medicaid-a-to-z/hipp   
HIPP Phone: 888.346.9562 

KANSAS – Medicaid 
Website: https://www.kancare.ks.gov/  
Phone: 800.792.4884 
KENTUCKY – Medicaid 
Kentucky Integrated Health Insurance Premium Payment 
Program (KI-HIPP) Website:  
https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dms/member/Pages/kihipp.aspx 
Phone: 855.459.6328 
Email: KIHIPP.PROGRAM@ky.gov 
KCHIP Website: https://kidshealth.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx  
Phone: 877.524.4718 
Kentucky Medicaid Website: https://chfs.ky.gov  

LOUISIANA – Medicaid 
Website: www.medicaid.la.gov or www.ldh.la.gov/lahipp  
Phone: 888.342.6207 (Medicaid hotline) or  
855.618.5488 (LaHIPP) 
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MAINE – Medicaid 
Enrollment Website:  
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/applications-forms 
Phone: 800.442.6003  |  TTY: Maine relay 711 
Private Health Insurance Premium Webpage: 
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/applications-forms 
Phone:  800.977.6740  |  TTY: Maine relay 711 

MASSACHUSETTS – Medicaid and CHIP 
Website: https://www.mass.gov/info-details/masshealth-premium-
assistance-pa  
Phone: 800.862.4840 

MINNESOTA – Medicaid 
Website: https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-
families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-
services/other-insurance.jsp 
Phone: 800.657.3739 

MISSOURI – Medicaid 
Website: 
https://www.dss.mo.gov/mhd/participants/pages/hipp.htm 
Phone: 573.751.2005 

MONTANA – Medicaid 
Website: http://dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/HIPP 
Phone: 800.694.3084 

NEBRASKA – Medicaid 
Website: http://www.ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov 
Phone: 855.632.7633 
Lincoln: 402.473.7000 
Omaha: 402.595.1178 

NEVADA – Medicaid 
Medicaid Website: https://dhcfp.nv.gov/ 
Medicaid Phone: 800.992.0900 

NEW HAMPSHIRE – Medicaid 
Website: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/oii/documents/hippapp.pdf 
Phone: 603.271.5218 
Toll-Free for the HIPP program: 800.852.3345, ext. 5218 

NEW JERSEY – Medicaid and CHIP 
Medicaid Website: 
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid/ 
Medicaid Phone: 609.631.2392 
CHIP Website: http://www.njfamilycare.org/index.html 
CHIP Phone: 800.701.0710 

NEW YORK – Medicaid 
Website: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/ 
Phone: 800.541.2831 

NORTH CAROLINA – Medicaid 
Website: https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/ 
Phone: 919.855.4100 

NORTH DAKOTA – Medicaid 
Website: http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/medicalserv/medicaid/ 
Phone: 844.854.4825 

OKLAHOMA – Medicaid and CHIP 
Website: http://www.insureoklahoma.org 
Phone: 888.365.3742 

OREGON – Medicaid  
Websites: http://healthcare.oregon.gov/Pages/index.aspx 
http://www.oregonhealthcare.gov/index-es.html 
Phone: 800.699.9075 

PENNSYLVANIA – Medicaid 
Website: 
https://www.dhs.pa.gov/providers/Providers/Pages/Medical/HIPP-
Program.aspx 
Phone: 800.692.7462 

RHODE ISLAND – Medicaid and CHIP 
Website: http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/ 
Phone: 855.697.4347, or 401.462.0311 (Direct RIte Share Line) 

SOUTH CAROLINA – Medicaid 
Website: https://www.scdhhs.gov 
Phone: 888.549.0820 

SOUTH DAKOTA – Medicaid 
Website: http://dss.sd.gov 
Phone: 888.828.0059 

TEXAS – Medicaid 
Website: http://gethipptexas.com/ 
Phone: 800.440.0493 

UTAH – Medicaid and CHIP 
Medicaid Website: https://medicaid.utah.gov/ 
CHIP Website: http://health.utah.gov/chip 
Phone: 877.543.7669 

VERMONT – Medicaid 
Website: http://www.greenmountaincare.org/ 
Phone: 800.250.8427 

VIRGINIA – Medicaid and CHIP 
Website: https://www.coverva.org/en/famis-select  
https://www.coverva.org/en/hipp/  
Medicaid Phone: 800.432.5924 
CHIP Phone: 800.432.5924 

WASHINGTON – Medicaid 
Website: https://www.hca.wa.gov/ 
Phone: 800.562.3022 

WEST VIRGINIA – Medicaid 
Website: http://mywvhipp.com/ 
Toll-free phone: 855.MyWVHIPP (855.699.8447) 

WISCONSIN – Medicaid and CHIP 
Website: 
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/p-10095.htm 
Phone: 800.362.3002 

WYOMING – Medicaid 
Website: https://health.wyo.gov/healthcarefin/medicaid/programs-
and-eligibility/ 
Phone: 800.251.1269 

To see if any other states have added a premium assistance 
program since July 31, 2021, or for more information on special 
enrollment rights, contact either: 

U.S. Department of Labor 
Employee Benefits Security Administration 
www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa 
866.444.EBSA (3272) 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
www.cms.hhs.gov 
877.267.2323, Menu Option 4, Ext. 61565 
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Below is a listing of the telephone numbers you can call with questions about the plans available to you. You can also use the 
website (if available) to access information from providers for the various plans.

Plan Phone Number Email / Website

Employee Benefits

• ADP Benefits Center 855.547.8508 MyLifeAdvisor@adp.com

Medical

• Kaiser Permanente 800.464.4000 kp.org

• Blue Shield

– HMO/PPO 888.256.1915 blueshieldca.com

• Optum HSA 866.234.8913 optumbank.com

Dental

• Delta Dental of California 800.765.6003 deltadentalins.com

• MetLife 800.880.1800

metlife.com/mybenefits
Under Access MyBenefits type 
and select Superior Court Of 

California, Fresno County

Vision

• Superior Vision 800.507.3800 superiorvision.com

Employee Assistance Program

• Magellan Health 800.424.4039 magellanascend.com

Flexible Spending Account

• Navia Benefits 800.669.3539 naviabenefits.com/participants

Life Insurance

• Cigna 800.362.4462 cigna.com

Deferred Compensation

• Empower Retirement (Great West) 559.967.2280 Stephanie.Henry@Empower-Retirement.com

Voluntary Plans

• American Fidelity 405.212.2421 enroll.americanfidelity.com/E63CB2DA

• Liberty Mutual 559.512.8316 Lisa.Kiseloff@LibertyMutual.com

• Cigna Group Universal Life (GUL) 800.828.3485 cignatrustedadvisor.com/superiorcourtfresno

Contact Information

mailto:MyLifeAdvisor@adp.com
http://kp.org
http://blueshieldca.com
http://optumbank.com
http://deltadentalins.com
http://metlife.com/mybenefits
http://superiorvision.com
http://magellanascend.com
http://naviabenefits.com/participants
http://cigna.com
http://enroll.americanfidelity.com/E63CB2DA
http://cignatrustedadvisor.com/superiorcourtfresno
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