












The electronic service address of the person identified in item 1 is (specify):

CONSENT TO ELECTRONIC SERVICE AND NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC 
SERVICE ADDRESS 

(Electronic Filing and Service) 

Page 1 of 2

Cal. Rules of Court, rule 2.251 
www.courts.ca.gov

(name):a.

b.

c.

d.

e.

plaintiff

(describe):other

(name):respondent

(name):petitioner

(name):defendant

consents to electronic service of notices and documents in the above-captioned action.

1.

2.

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF

BRANCH NAME:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

Defendant/Respondent:

Plaintiff/Petitioner:

FOR COURT USE ONLY

CASE NUMBER:

DEPARTMENT:

JUDICIAL OFFICER:

CONSENT TO ELECTRONIC SERVICE AND NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC
SERVICE ADDRESS

EFS-005-CV
ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY:

STATE: ZIP CODE:CITY:

STREET ADDRESS:

FIRM NAME:

NAME:

STATE BAR NO:

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO. :

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (name):

The following party     or the attorney for:

Date:

(SIGNATURE OF PARTY OR ATTORNEY)TYPE OR PRINT NAME

Form Approved for Optional Use 
Judicial Council of California 
EFS-005-CV [Rev. July 1, 2016]



My residence or business address is (specify):

My electronic service address is (specify):

On behalf of (name or names of parties represented, if person served is an attorney):

PROOF OF ELECTRONIC SERVICE

I electronically served a copy of the Consent to Electronic Service and Notice of Electronic Service Address as follows:

I am at least 18 years old.

CONSENT TO ELECTRONIC SERVICE AND NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC SERVICE ADDRESS 

Page 2 of 2

1.

2.

At (time):d.

On (date):

EFS-005-CV

Name of person served:

Electronic service address of person served:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

(Note: If you serve Consent to Electronic Service and Notice of Electronic Service Address by mail, you should use form 
POS-030, Proof of Service by First-Class Mail–Civil, instead of using this page.)

a.

b.

CASE NUMBER:

CASE NAME:

a.

b.

c.

Electronic service of the Consent to Electronic Service and Notice of Electronic Service Address on additional persons is
described in an attachment.

Date:

(SIGNATURE OF DECLARANT)(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF DECLARANT)

EFS-005-CV [Rev. July 1, 2016] CONSENT TO ELECTRONIC SERVICE AND NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC 
SERVICE ADDRESS 

(Electronic Filing and Service) 



Form Adopted for Mandatory Use
Judicial Council of California 
SC-100-INFO [Rev. January 1, 2024]

INFORMATION FOR THE PLAINTIFF
(Small Claims)

Code of Civil Procedure, 
§§ 116.110 et seq.,116.220(c), 116.340(g) 

www.courts.ca.gov

SC-100-INFOINFORMATION FOR THE SMALL CLAIMS PLAINTIFF 
This information sheet is written for the person who sues in the small claims court. It explains some of the rules of, and 
some general information about, the small claims court. It may also be helpful for the person who is sued.

WHAT IS SMALL CLAIMS COURT?
Small claims court is a special court where disputes are resolved quickly and inexpensively. The rules are simple and informal. The 
person who sues is the plaintiff. The person who is sued is the defendant. In small claims court, you may ask a lawyer for advice 
before you go to court, but you cannot have a lawyer in court. Your claim cannot be for more than $6,250 if you are a business or public 
entity or for more than $12,500 if you are a natural person (including a sole proprietor). (See below for reference to exceptions.*) If you 
have a claim for more than this amount, you may sue in the civil division of the trial court or you may sue in the small claims court and 
give up your right to the amount over the limit. You cannot, however, file more than two cases in small claims court for more than 
$2,500 each during a calendar year.

WHO CAN FILE A CLAIM?
1. You must be at least 18 years old to file a claim. If you are not 

yet 18, tell the clerk. You may ask the court to appoint a 
guardian ad litem. This is a person who will act for you in the 
case. The guardian ad litem is usually a parent, a relative, or 
an adult friend.

2. A person who sues in small claims court must first make a 
demand, if possible. This means that you have asked the 
defendant to pay, and the defendant has refused. If your claim 
is for possession of property, you must ask the defendant to 
give you the property.

3. Unless you fall within two technical exceptions, you must be 
the original owner of the claim. This means that if the claim is 
assigned, the buyer cannot sue in the small claims court.

You must also appear at the small claims hearing yourself 
unless you filed the claim for a corporation or other entity 
that is not a natural person.

4. If a corporation files a claim, an employee, an officer, or a 
director must act on its behalf. If the claim is filed on behalf of 
an association or another entity that is not a natural person, a 
regularly employed person of the entity must act on its behalf. 
A person who appears on behalf of a corporation or another 
entity must not be employed or associated solely for the 
purpose of representing the corporation or other entity in the 
small claims court. You must file a declaration with the 
court to appear in any of these instances. (See 
Authorization to Appear, form SC-109.)

WHERE CAN YOU FILE YOUR CLAIM?
You must sue in the right court and location. This rule is called venue. Check the court's local rules if there is more than one court 
location in the county handling small claims cases. If you file your claim in the wrong court, the court will dismiss the claim unless all 
defendants personally appear at the hearing and agree that the claim may be heard. The right location may be any of these: 

1. Where the defendant lives or where the business involved is 
located;

2. Where the damage or accident happened;
3. Where the contract was signed or carried out;
4. If the defendant is a corporation, where the contract was 

broken; or

5. For a retail installment account or sales contract or a motor 
vehicle finance sale:
a. Where the buyer lives;
b. Where the buyer lived when the contract was entered into;
c. Where the buyer signed the contract; or
d. Where the goods or vehicle are permanently kept.

SOME RULES ABOUT THE DEFENDANT (including government agencies)
1. You must sue using the defendant's exact legal name. If the 

defendant is a business or a corporation and you do not know
the exact legal name, check with the state or local licensing 
agency, the county clerk's office, or the Office of the Secretary 
of State, Corporate Status Unit, at www.sos.ca.gov/business.
Ask the clerk for help if you do not know how to find this 
information. If you do not use the defendant's exact legal 
name, the court may be able to correct the name on your claim 
at the hearing or after the judgment. 

2. If you want to sue a government agency, you must first file a 
claim with the agency before you can file a lawsuit in court. 
Strict time limits apply. If you are in a Department of 
Corrections or Youth Authority facility, you must prove that the 
agency denied your claim. Please attach a copy of the denial 
to your claim.

3. With very limited exceptions, the defendant must be served 
within the state of California.

HOW DOES THE DEFENDANT FIND OUT ABOUT THE CLAIM?
You must make sure the defendant finds out about your lawsuit. This has to be done according to the rules or your case may be 
dismissed or delayed. The correct way of telling the defendant about the lawsuit is called service of process. This means giving the 
defendant a copy of the claim. YOU CANNOT DO THIS YOURSELF. You should read form SC-104B, What is "Proof of Service"?
Here are four ways to serve the defendant:
1. Service by a law officer—You may ask the marshal or sheriff 

to serve the defendant. A fee will be charged. 
2. Process server—You may ask anyone who is not a party in

your case and who is at least 18 years old to serve the 
defendant. The person is called a process server and must 
personally give a copy of your claim to the defendant. The 
person must also sign a proof of service form showing when 
the defendant was served. Registered process servers will 
serve papers for a fee. You may also ask a friend or relative to 
do it.

3. Certified mail—You may ask the clerk of the court to serve 
the defendant by certified mail. The clerk will charge a fee. 
You should check back with the court before the hearing to 
see if the receipt for certified mail was returned to the court.
Service by certified mail must be done by the clerk's 
office except in motor vehicle accident cases involving 
out-of-state defendants.

4. Substituted service—This method lets you serve another 
person instead of the defendant. You must follow the 
procedures carefully. You may also wish to use the marshal or 
sheriff or a registered process server.

* Exceptions: Different limits apply in an action against a defendant who is a guarantor. (See Code Civ. Proc., § 116.220(c).) Page 1 of 2



SC-100-INFO [Rev. January 1, 2024] INFORMATION FOR THE PLAINTIFF
(Small Claims)

4. Substituted service (continued) A copy of your claim must be 
left at the defendant's business with the person in charge, OR
at the defendant's home with a competent person who is at 
least 18 years old. The person who receives the claim must
be told about its contents. Another copy must be mailed, first 
class postage prepaid, to the defendant at the address where 
the paper was left. The service is not complete until 10 days
after the copy is mailed.

5. Timing and proof of service—No matter which method of 
service you choose, the defendant must be served by a certain 
date, or the trial will be postponed. If the defendant lives in the 
county, service must be completed at least 15 days before the 
trial date. This period is at least 20 days if the defendant lives 
outside the county.

The person who serves the defendant must sign a court 
paper showing when the defendant was served. This paper is 
called a Proof of Service (form SC-104). It must be signed and 
returned to the court clerk as soon as the defendant has been 
served.

WHAT IF THE DEFENDANT ALSO HAS A CLAIM?
Sometimes the person who was sued (the defendant) will also have a claim against the person who filed the lawsuit (the plaintiff).

This claim is called the Defendant's Claim. The defendant may file this claim in the same lawsuit. This helps to resolve all of the 
disagreements between the parties at the same time.

If the defendant decides to file the claim in the small claims court, the claim may not be for more than $6,250, or $12,500 if the 
defendant is a natural person (see exceptions on page 1*). If the value of the claim is more than this amount, the defendant may either 
give up the amount over $6,250 or $12,500 and sue in the small claims court or sue in the appropriate court for the full value of the 
claim. If the defendant's claim relates to the same contract, transaction, matter, or event that is the subject of your claim and exceeds 
the value amount for small claims court, the defendant may file the claim in the appropriate court and file a motion to transfer your claim 
to that court to resolve both claims together.

The defendant's claim must be served on the plaintiff at least five days before the trial. If the defendant received the plaintiff's claim
10 days or less before the trial, then the claim must be served at least one day before the trial. Both claims will be heard by the court at 
the same time. WHAT HAPPENS AT THE TRIAL?

Be sure you are on time for the trial. The small claims trial is informal. You must bring with you all witnesses, books, receipts, and 
other papers or things to prove your case. You may ask the witnesses to come to court voluntarily, or you may ask the clerk to issue a
subpoena. A subpoena is a court order that requires the witness to go to trial. The witness has a right to charge a fee for going to the 
trial. If you do not have the records or papers to prove your case, you may also get a court order before the trial date requiring the 
papers to be brought to the trial. This order is called a Small Claims Subpoena and Declaration (form SC-107). 

If you settle the case before the trial, you must file a dismissal form with the clerk.
The court's decision is usually mailed to you after the trial. It may also be hand delivered to you when the trial is over and after the 

judge has made a decision. The decision appears on a form called the Notice of Entry of Judgment (form SC-130 or SC-200).
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER JUDGMENT?

The court may have ordered one party to pay money to the other party. The party who wins the case and is owed the money is 
called the judgment creditor. The party who loses the case and owes the money is called the judgment debtor. Enforcement of the
judgment is postponed until the time for appeal ends or until the appeal is decided. This means that the judgment creditor cannot
collect any money or take any action until this period is over. Generally both parties may be represented by lawyers after judgment.
More information about your rights after judgment is available on the back of the Notice of Entry of Judgment. The clerk may also have 
this information on a separate sheet.

HOW TO GET HELP WITH YOUR CASE
1. Lawyers—Both parties may ask a lawyer about the case, but 

a lawyer may not represent either party in court at the small 
claims trial. Generally, after judgment and on appeal, both 
parties may be represented by lawyers.

2. Interpreters—If you do not speak English well, ask the court 
clerk as soon as possible for a court-provided interpreter. You 
may use form INT-300 or a local court form to request an 
interpreter. If a court interpreter is not available at the time of 
your trial, it may be necessary to reschedule your trial. You 
cannot bring your own interpreter for the trial unless the 
interpreter has been approved by the court as a certified, 
registered, or provisionally qualified interpreter. (See Cal. 
Rules of Court, rule 2.893, and form INT-140.) 

3. Waiver of fees—The court charges fees for some of its 
procedures. Fees are also charged for serving the defendant
with the claim. The court may excuse you from paying these
fees if you cannot afford them. Ask the clerk for the Information
Sheet on Waiver of Superior Court Fees and Costs (form
FW-001-INFO) to find out if you meet the requirements so that 
you do not have to pay the fees.

4. Night and Saturday court—If you cannot go to court during 
working hours, ask the clerk if the court has trials at night or 
on Saturdays.

5. Parties who are in jail—If you are in jail, the court may 
excuse you from going to the trial. Instead, you may ask 
another person who is not an attorney to go to the trial for you. 
You may mail written declarations to the court to support your 
case.

6. Accommodations—If you have a disability and need 
assistance, immediately ask the court  to help accommodate
your needs. If you are hearing impaired and need assistance,
notify the court immediately.

7. Forms—You can get small claims forms and more information 
at the California Courts Self-Help Center website 
(www.courts.ca.gov/smallclaims), your county law library, or 
the courthouse nearest you. 

8. Small claims advisors—The law requires each county to 
provide assistance in small claims cases free of charge. 
(Small claims advisor information):

Page 2 of 2



Judicial Council of California,
Rev. January 1, 2024, Mandatory Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 116.110 et seq., 
116.220(c), 116.340(g)

Plaintiff's Claim and ORDER 
to Go to Small Claims Court

SC-100, Page 1 of 6

SC-100 Plaintiff's Claim and ORDER
to Go to Small Claims Court

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

Case Name:

Notice to the person being sued:
• You are the defendant if your name is listed in 2 on page 2 of this form or 

on form SC-100A. The person suing you is the plaintiff, listed in 1

on page 2.
• You and the plaintiff must go to court on the trial date listed below. If you

do not go to court, you may lose the case. If you lose, the court can order 
that your wages, money, or property be taken to pay this claim.

• Bring witnesses, receipts, and any evidence you need to prove your case.
• Read this form and all pages attached to understand the claim against you 

and to protect your rights.

Aviso al Demandado:
• Usted es el Demandado si su nombre figura en 2 de la página 2 de este

formulario, o en el formulario SC-100A. La persona que lo demanda es el
Demandante, la que figura en 1 de la página 2. 

• Usted y el Demandante tienen que presentarse en la corte en la fecha del
juicio indicada a continuación. Si no se presenta, puede perder el caso. Si
pierde el caso, la corte podría ordenar que le quiten de su sueldo, dinero u
otros bienes para pagar este reclamo.

• Lleve testigos, recibos y cualquier otra prueba que necesite para probar su caso.

• Lea este formulario y todas las páginas adjuntas para entender la demanda
en su contra y para proteger sus derechos.

Order to Go to Court

The people in      and      must attend court: (Clerk fills out section below.)1 2

Trial
Date

Date Time Department Name and address of court, if different from above
1.

2.

3.

Date: Clerk, by , Deputy

Instructions for the person suing:
Do not use this form to recover COVID-19 rental debt, which is unpaid rent or other financial obligations under a 
tenancy due between March 1, 2020, and September 30, 2021. (See Code of Civil Procedure, §1179.02.) To recover 
COVID-19 rental debt, use form

• You are the plaintiff. The person you are suing is the defendant.
• Before you fill out this form, read form                                                                         to know your rights. You can get 

form SC-100-INFO at any courthouse or county law library, or go to 
• Fill out pages 2, 3, and 4 of this form. Make copies of all the pages of this form and any attachments—one for each 

party named in this case and an extra copy for yourself. Take or mail the original and the copies to the court clerk’s 
office and pay the filing fee. The clerk will write the date of your trial in the box above. Your court may allow 
electronic filing. Check your local court website for information: 

• You must have someone at least 18—not you or anyone else listed in this case—give each defendant a court-stamped 
copy of all pages of this form and any pages this form tells you to attach. There are special rules for “serving,” or 
delivering, this form to public entities, associations, and some businesses. See forms

• Go to court on your trial date listed above. Bring witnesses, receipts, and any evidence you need to prove your case.
www.courts.ca.gov

SC-500, Plaintiff’s Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court.

SC-100-INFO, Information for the Plaintiff,
www.courts.ca.gov/forms.

www.courts.ca.gov/find-my-court.htm.

SC-104, SC-104B, and SC-104C.



Rev. January 1, 2024 Plaintiff’s Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court

Plaintiff (list names): Case Number:

1 The plaintiff (the person, business, or public entity that is suing) is:

Name: Phone:

Street address:
Street City State Zip

Mailing address (if different): 
Street City State Zip

Email address (if available):

If more than one plaintiff, list next plaintiff here:
Name: Phone:

Street address:
Street City State Zip

Mailing address (if different): 
Street City State Zip

Email address (if available):

Check here if more than two plaintiffs and attach form 
Check here if either plaintiff listed above is doing business under a fictitious name and attach form 
Check here if any plaintiff is a “licensee” or “deferred deposit originator” (payday lender) under Financial 
Code sections 23000 et seq.

2 The defendant (the person, business, or public entity being sued) is:

Name: Phone:

Street address:
Street City State Zip

Mailing address (if different):
Street City State Zip

If the defendant is a corporation, limited liability company, or public entity, list the person 
or agent authorized for service of process here:
Name: Job title, if known:

Address:
Street City State Zip

Check here if your case is against more than one defendant and attach form 

Check here if any defendant is on active military duty and write defendant’s name here:

3 The plaintiff claims the defendant owes $ . (Explain below and on next page.)

(Note: A claim for COVID-19 rental debt cannot be made on this form. Use form 

a. Why does the defendant owe the plaintiff money? 

SC-100, Page 2 of 6

SC-100A.
SC-103.

SC-100A.

SC-500, Plaintiff’s Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court (COVID-19 Rental Debt).)



Rev. January 1, 2024 Plaintiff’s Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court

Plaintiff (list names): Case Number:

3 b. When did this happen? (Date):

If no specific date, give the time period: Date started: Through:

c. How did you calculate the money owed to you? (Do not include court costs or fees for service.)

Check here if you need more space. Attach one sheet of paper or form                and write “SC-100, Item 3” at 
the top.

4

If no, explain why not:

You must ask the defendant (in person, in writing, or by phone) to pay you before you 
sue. If your claim is for possession of property, you must ask the defendant to give you 
the property. Have you done this? 

Yes No

5 Why are you filing your claim at this courthouse?
This courthouse covers the area (check the one that applies):

a. (1) Where the defendant lives or does business.
(2) Where the plaintiff’s property was damaged.
(3) Where the plaintiff was injured.

(4) Where a contract (written or spoken) was made, 
signed, performed, or broken by the defendant or
where the defendant lived or did business when the 
defendant made the contract.

b. Where the buyer or lessee signed the contract, lives now, or lived when the contract was made, if this claim, 
is about an offer or contract for personal, family, or household goods, services, or loans. (Code Civ. Proc.,
§ 395(b).) 

c. Where the buyer signed the contract, lives now, or lived when the contract was made, if this claim is about a 
retail installment contract (like a credit card). (Civ. Code, § 1812.10.) 

d. Where the buyer signed the contract, lives now, or lived when the contract was made, or where the vehicle is 
permanently garaged, if this claim is about a vehicle finance sale. (Civ. Code, § 2984.4.)

e. Other (specify):

6 List the zip code of the place checked in      above (if you know):5

7 Is your claim about an attorney-client fee dispute? Yes No
If yes, and if you have had arbitration, fill out form SC-101, attach it to this form, and check here:

8 Are you suing a public entity? Yes No
If yes, you must file a written claim with the entity first. A claim was filed on (date):
If the public entity denies your claim or does not answer within the time allowed by law, you can file this form.

SC-100, Page 3 of 6
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Rev. January 1, 2024 Plaintiff’s Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court

Plaintiff (list names): Case Number:

9 Have you filed more than 12 other small claims within the last 12 months in California? 
Yes No  If yes, the filing fee for this case will be higher.

10 Is your claim for more than $2,500? Yes No
If you answer yes, you also confirm that you have not filed, and you understand that you may not file, more than two 
small claims cases for more than $2,500 in California during this calendar year.

11 I understand that by filing a claim in small claims court, I have no right to appeal this 
claim.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above and on any 
attachments to this form is true and correct.

Date:

 Plaintiff types or prints name here  Plaintiff signs here

Date:

Second plaintiff types or prints name here Second plaintiff signs here

Requests for Accommodations
Assistive listening systems, computer-assisted real-time captioning, or sign language interpreter
services are available if you ask at least five days before the trial. For these and other accommodations, 
contact the clerk’s office for form (Civ. Code, § 54.8.)

SC-100, Page 4 of 6

MC-410, Disability Accommodation Request.



Rev. January 1, 2024 Plaintiff’s Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court

SC-100 Information for the defendant (the person being sued)

"Small claims court" is a special court where claims for 
$12,500 or less are decided. Individuals, including "natural 
persons" and sole proprietors, may claim up to $12,500. 
Corporations, partnerships, public entities, and other businesses 
are limited to claims of $6,250. (See below for exceptions.*) The 
process is quick and cheap. The rules are simple and informal. 
You are the defendant—the person being sued. The person who is 
suing you is the plaintiff.

Do I need a lawyer? You may talk to a lawyer before or after 
the case. But you may not have a lawyer represent you in court 
(unless this is an appeal from a small claims case).

How do I get ready for court? You don’t have to file any 
papers before your trial, unless you think this is the wrong court for 
your case. But bring to your trial any witnesses, receipts, and 
evidence that support your case. And read “Be Prepared for Your 
Trial” at 

What if I need an accommodation? If you have a 
disability or are hearing impaired, fill out form
                                          Give the form to your court clerk or the 
ADA/Access Coordinator.

What if I don’t speak English well? Ask the court clerk 
as soon as possible for a court-provided interpreter. You may use 
form  or a local court form 
to request an interpreter. If a court interpreter is unavailable for 
your trial, it may be necessary to reschedule your trial. You cannot 
bring your own interpreter for the trial unless the interpreter has 
been approved by the court as a certified, registered, or 
provisionally qualified interpreter. (See Cal. Rules of Court, rule 
2.893, and form              .)

Where can I get the court forms I need? Go to any 
courthouse or your county law library, or print forms at 

What happens at the trial? The judge will listen to both 
sides. The judge may make a decision at your trial or mail the 
decision to you later.

What if I lose the case? If you lose, you may appeal. You’ll 
have to pay a fee. (Plaintiffs cannot appeal their own claims.)

• If you were at the trial, file form                                             You 
must file within 30 days after the clerk hands or mails you the 
judge's decision (judgment) on form               or form

• If you were not at the trial, fill out and file form
to ask the judge to 

cancel the judgment (decision). If the judge does not give you a 
new trial, you have 10 days to appeal the decision. File form 

For more information on appeals, see 

Do I have options? Yes. If you are being sued you can:
• Settle your case before the trial. If you and the 

plaintiff agree on how to settle the case before the trial, the 
plaintiff must file form                                                    or a 
written and signed settlement agreement with the clerk. Ask the 
Small Claims Advisor for help.

• Go to the trial and try to win your case. Bring
witnesses, receipts, and any evidence you need to prove your 
case. To have the court order a witness to go to the trial, fill out 
form
and have it served on the witness.

• Sue the person who is suing you. If you have a claim 
against the plaintiff, and the claim is appropriate for small claims 
court as described on this form, you may file Defendant's Claim
(form             ) and bring the claim in this action. If your claim is 
for more than allowed in small claims court, you may still file it in 
small claims court if you give up the amount over the small 
claims value amount, or you may file a claim for the full value of 
the claim in the appropriate court. If your claim is for more than 
allowed in small claims court and relates to the same contract, 
transaction, matter, or event that is the subject of the plaintiff's 
claim, you may file your claim in the appropriate court and file a 
motion to transfer the plaintiff's claim to that court to resolve 
both matters together. You can see a description of the amounts 
allowed in the paragraph above, titled “Small Claims Court.”

• Agree with the plaintiff's claim and pay the 
money. Or, if you can’t pay the money now, go to your trial 
and say you want to make payments.

• Let the case "default." If you don’t settle and do not go to 
the trial (default), the judge may give the plaintiff what he or she 
is asking for plus court costs. If this happens, the plaintiff can 
legally take your money, wages, and property to pay the 
judgment.

• Prove this is the wrong court. Send a letter to the court
before your trial explaining why you think this is the wrong court. 
Ask the court to dismiss the claim. You must serve (give) a copy 
of your letter (by mail or in person) to all parties. (Your letter to 
the court must say you have done so.)

What if I need more time? 
You can change the trial date if:
• You cannot go to court on the scheduled date (you will have to 

pay a fee to postpone the trial), or
• You did not get served (receive this order to go to court) at least 

15 days before the trial (or 20 days if you live outside the 
county).

Ask the Small Claims Clerk about the rules and fees for 
postponing a trial. Or fill out form              (or write a letter) and 
mail it to the court and to all other people listed on your court 
papers before the deadline. Enclose a check for your court fees, 
unless a fee waiver was granted. 

? Need help? 
Your county’s Small Claims Advisor can help for free.

Or go to 

* Exceptions: Different limits apply in an action against a defendant who is a guarantor. (See Code Civ. Proc., § 116.220(c).) Limits do not apply in an action to 
recover COVID-19 rental debt. (See Code Civ. Proc., §§ 116.223 & 1179.02; form SC-500.)
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www.courts.ca.gov/smallclaims/prepare.

MC-410, Disability
Accommodation Request.

INT-300, Request for Interpreter (Civil)

INT-140

www.courts.ca.gov/forms.

SC-140, Notice of Appeal.

SC-200 SC-130,
Notice of Entry of Judgment.

SC-135, Notice of
Motion to Vacate Judgment and Declaration,

SC-140.

www.courts.ca.gov/
smallclaims/appeals.

CIV-110, Request for Dismissal

SC-107, Small Claims Subpoena and Declaration,

SC-120

SC-150

www.courts.ca.gov/smallclaims/advisor.
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SC-100 Información para el demandado (la persona demandada)

La “Corte de reclamos menores” es una corte especial donde se 
deciden casos por $12,500 o menos. Los individuos, o sea las 
“personas físicas” y los propietarios por cuenta propia, pueden 
reclamar hasta $12,500. Las corporaciones, asociaciones, entidades 
públicas y otras empresas solo pueden reclamar hasta $6,250. (Vea 
abajo para las excepciones.*) El proceso es rápido y económico. Las 
reglas son sencillas e informales. Usted es el Demandado—la 
persona que se está demandando. La persona que lo está 
demandando es el Demandante. 

¿Necesito un abogado? Puede hablar con un abogado antes o 
después del caso. Pero no puede tener a un abogado que lo 
represente ante la corte (a menos que se trate de una apelación de un 
caso de reclamos menores). 
¿Cómo me preparo para ir a la corte? No tiene que presentar 
ningún documento antes del juicio, a menos que piense que ésta es la 
corte equivocada para su caso. Pero lleve al juicio cualquier testigos, 
recibos y pruebas que apoyan su caso. Y lea “Esté preparado para su 
juicio” en www.courts.ca.gov/reclamosmenores/preparese.
¿Qué hago si necesito una modificación? Si tiene una 
discapacidad o tiene impedimentos de audición, llene el formulario 
MC-410, Solicitud de modificaciones para discapacidad. Entregue el 
formulario al secretario de la corte o al Coordinador de Acceso/ADA 
de su corte.
¿Qué pasa si no hablo bien inglés? Solicite un intérprete al 
secretario de la corte lo más pronto posible. Puede usar el formulario 
INT-300 o un formulario de su corte local. Si no está disponible un 
intérprete de la corte para su juicio, es posible que se tenga que 
cambiar la fecha de su juicio. No puede llevar su propio intérprete 
para el juicio a menos que el intérprete haya sido aprobado por la 
corte como un intérprete certificado, registrado, o provisionalmente 
calificado. (Vea la regla 2.893 de las Reglas de la Corte de California, 
y el formulario INT-140.) 

¿Dónde puedo obtener los formularios de la corte que necesito?
Vaya a cualquier edificio de la corte, la biblioteca legal de su condado, 
o imprima los formularios en www.courts.ca.gov/smallclaims/forms 
(página está en inglés). 

¿Qué pasa en el juicio? El juez escuchará a ambas partes. El juez 
puede tomar su decisión durante la audiencia o enviársela por correo 
después.

¿Qué pasa si pierdo el caso? Si pierde, puede apelar. Tendrá que 
pagar una cuota. (El Demandante no puede apelar su propio reclamo.)

• Si estuvo presente en el juicio, llene el formulario SC-140, Aviso de 
apelación (Notice of Appeal). Tiene que presentarlo dentro de 30 
días después de que el secretario le entregue o envíe la decisión 
(fallo) del juez en el formulario SC-200 o SC-130, Aviso de 
publicación del fallo (Notice of Entry of Judgment). 

• Si no estuvo en el juicio, llene y presente el formulario SC-135, 
Aviso de petición para anular el fallo y Declaración para pedirle al 
juez que anule el fallo (decisión). Si la corte no le otorga un nuevo 
juicio, tiene 10 días para apelar la decisión. Presente el formulario 
SC-140.

Para obtener más información sobre las apelaciones, vea
www.courts.ca.gov/reclamosmenores/apelaciones.
¿Tengo otras opciones? Sí. Si lo están demandando, puede:

• Resolver su caso antes del juicio. Si usted y el Demandante se 
ponen de acuerdo en cómo resolver el caso antes del juicio, el 
Demandante tiene que presentar el formulario CIV-110 Solicitud de 
desestimación (Request for Dismissal) o un acuerdo de resolución 
escrito y firmado al secretario de la corte. Pídale al Asesor de 
Reclamos Menores que lo ayude.

• Ir al juicio y tratar de ganar el caso. Lleve testigos, recibos y 
cualquier prueba que necesite para probar su caso. Si desea que 
la corte emita una orden de comparecencia para que los testigos 
vayan al juicio, llene el formulario SC-107, Citatorio de reclamos 
menores (Small Claims Subpoena) y entrégueselo legalmente al 
testigo.

• Demandar a la persona que lo demandó. Si tiene un reclamo 
contra el Demandante, y el reclamo se puede presentar en la 
corte de reclamos menores, tal como se describe en este 
formulario, puede presentar el formulario SC-120, Reclamo del 
demandado (Defendant’s Claim) y presentarlo en este mismo 
caso. Si su reclamo excede el límite permitido en la corte de 
reclamos menores, puede igualmente presentarlo en la corte de 
reclamos menores si está dispuesto a limitar su reclamo al 
máximo permitido, o puede presentar un reclamo por el monto 
total en la corte apropiada. Si su reclamo excede el límite 
permitido en la corte de reclamos menores y está relacionado con 
el mismo contrato, transacción, asunto o acontecimiento que el 
reclamo del Demandante, puede presentar su reclamo en la corte 
apropiada y presentar una moción para transferir el reclamo del 
Demandante a dicha corte, para poder resolver los dos reclamos 
juntos. Puede ver una descripción de los montos permitidos en el 
párrafo anterior titulado “Corte de reclamos menores”.

• Aceptar el reclamo del Demandante y pagar el dinero. O, si no 
puede pagar en ese momento, vaya al juicio y diga que quiere 
hacer los pagos a plazos. 

• No ir al juicio y aceptar el fallo por falta de comparecencia. Si 
no llega a un acuerdo con el Demandante y no va al juicio (fallo 
por falta de comparecencia), el juez le puede otorgar al 
Demandante lo que está reclamando más los costos de la corte. 
En ese caso, el Demandante legalmente puede tomar su dinero, 
su sueldo o sus bienes para cobrar el fallo.

• Probar que es la corte equivocada. Envíe una carta a la corte 
antes del juicio explicando por qué cree que es la corte 
equivocada. Pídale a la corte que despida el reclamo.Tiene que 
entregar (dar) una copia de su carta (por correo o en persona) a 
todas las partes. (Su carta a la corte tiene que decir que hizo la 
entrega.)

¿Qué hago si necesito más tiempo? Puede cambiar la fecha del 
juicio si:
•   No puede ir a la corte en la fecha programada (tendrá que pagar 

una cuota para aplazar el juicio), o
•   No le entregaron los documentos legalmente (no recibió la orden 

para ir a la corte) por lo menos 15 días antes del juicio (ó 20 días 
si vive fuera del condado).

Pregúntele al secretario de reclamos menores sobre las reglas y  las 
cuotas para aplazar un juicio. O llene el formulario SC-150 (o escriba 
una carta) y envíelo antes del plazo a la corte y a todas las otras 
personas que figuran en sus papeles de la corte. Adjunte un cheque 
para pagar los costos de la corte, a menos que le hayan dado una 
exención.

? ¿Necesita ayuda? El Asesor de Reclamos Menores de su 
condado le puede ayudar sin cargo.

O visite www.courts.ca.gov/reclamosmenores/asesores.

* Excepciones: Existen diferentes límites en un reclamo contra un garante. (Vea el Código de 
Procedimiento Civil, sección 116.220 (c).) Los límites no se aplican a las acciones para reclamar 
una deuda de alquiler del COVID-19. (Vea el Código de Procedimiento Civil, secciones 116.223 
y 1179.02; y el formulario SC-500.) 



If more than two plaintiffs (person, business, or entity suing), list their information below:

If more than one defendant (person, business, or entity being sued), list their information 
below:

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov
Revised January 1, 2017, Mandatory Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 116.110 et seq.

Other Plaintiffs or Defendants
(Attachment to Plaintiff's Claim and ORDER 

to Go to Small Claims Court)

Is this plaintiff doing business under a fictitious name? If yes, attach form SC-103. 

Is this plaintiff doing business under a fictitious name? If yes, attach form SC-103. 

Mailing address (if different):

Zip:

State: Zip:

I declare under penalty of perjury under California state law that the information above and on any attachments to this 
form is true and correct.

I understand that by filing a claim in small claims court, I have no right to appeal this 
claim.

If yes, I have not filed, and understand that I cannot file, more than two small claims cases for more than $2,500 in 
California during this calendar year.

SC-100A, Page __ of __

1

2

3

4

Other plaintiff’s name:

Street address:

City:

Yes No

Yes No
Check here if more than 4 plaintiffs and fill out and attach another form SC-100A.

Check here if your case is against more than two defendants, and fill out and attach another form SC-100A.

Date:

Type or print your name

Date:

Type or print your name

State:City:

Street address:

City: State: Zip:

Mailing address (if different):

Zip:State:City:

Other defendant’s name:

Street address:

Zip:State:City:

Mailing address (if different):

Zip:State:City:

Name:

Address:

Zip:State:City:

Other plaintiff’s name:

SC-100A Other Plaintiffs or Defendants
Case Number:

This form is attached to form SC-100, item 1 or 2.

Sign your name 

Sign your name 

Phone:

Phone:

Phone:

Job title, if known:

If this defendant is a corporation, limited liability company, or public entity, list the person or agent authorized for 
service of process:

Is your claim for more than $2,500? NoYes
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Fictitious Business Name 
(Small Claims)
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SC-103 Fictitious Business Name Case Number:

Form SC-100 Form SC-120 Form SC-500

1 If you want to file a small claim and you are doing business under a fictitious name 
(“doing business as,” or “dba”) give the following information. (Nonprofits and exempt real 
estate investment trusts do not have to file this form.)

Business name of the person suing:

Business address (not a U.S. Postal Service P.O. Box):

Mailing address (if different):

2 The business listed in 1 does business as (check ONLY one):

an individual a corporation
an association a limited liability company
a partnership other (specify):

You must follow the laws for fictitious business names. If you have not followed these laws, including filing a 
fictitious business name statement in your county and publishing this information in a local newspaper, the court 
can dismiss your case.

3 Name of county where you filed your Fictitious Business Name Statement (dba):

4 Your Fictitious Business Name Statement number:

5 Date your Fictitious Business Name Statement expires:

6 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and 
correct. Only the owner, president, chief executive officer (CEO), or other qualified officer can sign this form.

Date:

Type or print your name and title Sign your name

Your county’s Small Claims Advisor can help for free.? Need help?

Or go to “County-Specific Court Information” at 

www.courts.ca.gov

www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-smallclaims



Form Adopted for Mandatory Use 
Judicial Council of California 
CIV-110 [Rev. January 1, 2025]

Code of Civil Procedure, § 581 et seq.; 
Government Code, § 68637(c); Cal. Rules of Court, rule 3.1390 

REQUEST FOR DISMISSAL

CIV-110

FOR COURT USE ONLY

CASE NUMBER:

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER:

NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

EMAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER:

DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT:

REQUEST FOR DISMISSAL

A conformed copy will not be returned by the clerk unless a method of return is provided with the document.

This form may not be used for dismissal of a derivative action or a class action or of any party or cause of action in a 
class action. (Cal. Rules of Court, rules 3.760 and 3.770.)

1. TO THE CLERK: Please dismiss this action as follows:

a. (1) With prejudice (2) Without prejudice Without prejudice and with the court retaining 
jurisdiction (Code Civ. Proc., § 664.6)

(3)

b. (1) Complaint (2) Petition

(3) Cross-complaint filed by (name):on (date):

(4) Cross-complaint filed on (date): by (name):

(5) Entire action of all parties and all causes of action

(6) Other (specify)*:

Date:

2. (Complete in all cases except family law cases.)
The court                                              waive court fees and costs for a party in this case. (This information may be obtained from 
the clerk. If court fees and costs were waived, the declaration on the back of this form must be completed.)

did did not

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF ATTORNEY PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY)

* If dismissal requested is of specified parties only, of specified causes of action only, 
or of specified cross-complaints only, so state and identify the parties, causes of 
action, or cross-complaints to be dismissed

(SIGNATURE)

Attorney or party without attorney for
Plaintiff/Petitioner Defendant/Respondent
Cross-Complainant

3. TO THE CLERK: Consent to the above dismissal is hereby given.†

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY)ATTORNEY
† If item 1a(3) is checked, all parties must sign.  

If a cross-complaint—or Response—Marriage/Domestic Partnership (form FL-120) 
seeking affirmative relief—is on file, the attorney for cross-complainant (respondent) 
must sign this consent if required by Code of Civil Procedure section 581(i) or (j).

(SIGNATURE)

Attorney or party without attorney for
Plaintiff/Petitioner Defendant/Respondent
Cross-Complainant

Check here and use form MC-025 or a separate page for additional signatures. Include date, printed name, and party information.

4. Dismissal entered as requested on (date):

5. Dismissal entered on (date): as to only (name):

6. Dismissal not entered as requested for the following reasons (specify):

7. a. Attorney or party without attorney notified on (date):

b. Attorney or party without attorney not notified. Filing party failed to provide
a copy to be conformed means to return conformed copy

Date: Clerk, by , Deputy
Page 1 of 2

www.courts.ca.gov



CIV-110 [Rev. January 1, 2025] REQUEST FOR DISMISSAL

CIV-110
PLAINTIFF/PETITIONER:

DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT:

CASE NUMBER:

COURT'S RECOVERY OF WAIVED COURT FEES AND COSTS 

If a party whose court fees and costs were initially waived has recovered or will recover $10,000 or 
more in value by way of settlement, compromise, arbitration award, mediation settlement, or other 
means, the court has a statutory lien on that recovery. The court may refuse to dismiss the case until 
the lien is satisfied. (Gov. Code, § 68637.)

Declaration Concerning Waived Court Fees

1. The court waived court fees and costs in this action for (name):

2. The person named in item 1 is (check one below)

a. not recovering anything of value by this action.

b. recovering less than $10,000 in value by this action.

c. recovering $10,000 or more in value by this action. (If item 2c is checked, item 3 must be completed.)

3. All court fees and court costs that were waived in this action have been paid to the court (check one): NoYes

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and correct.

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PARTY MAKING DECLARATION)ATTORNEY (SIGNATURE)

Page 2 of 2
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SC-104B What Is “Proof of Service”?

What is “service”?
“Service” or “serving” is when someone—not you or 
anyone else listed in this case—gives a copy of your
court papers to the person, business, or public entity you
are suing. Service lets the other party know:

•  What you are asking for;
•  When and where the trial will be; and
•  What the party can choose to do. 

There are strict rules for serving court papers. This form
explains how to serve these forms:
•  Form SC-100, Plaintiff’s Claim
•  Form SC-120, Defendant’s Claim
•  Form SC-500, Plaintiff's Claim (COVID-19 Rental Debt)

How is service done?
This form tells you how to serve by personal service or
substituted service.

Personal service means someone gives the papers
directly to the person being sued or to the agent
authorized to accept service (business or public entity).

Substituted service means someone gives the papers to
an adult where the person lives, works, or receives mail
(including a private post office box, but not a U.S. Postal
Service P.O. Box). 

What if the court papers do not get served?

The judge cannot hear your case unless the court papers
were served correctly.

Can the court serve the papers for me?
Yes. You can pay the court to mail your claim to the 
person you are suing. But if the person you are suing or
the person’s agent for service doesn’t sign the U.S.
Postal Service mail receipt with his or her complete
name, or if someone else signs the receipt, you will have
to serve again using personal or substituted service.

Who can serve?
You can ask a friend, a process server, or the sheriff.
The server must be at least 18 and not listed in the case.

A “process server” is someone you pay to deliver court 
forms. Look in the Yellow Pages under “Process
Serving.” The sheriff (or marshal if your county has
one) can also deliver court forms. Ask the court clerk
how to contact the sheriff. Or look in the county section
of your phone book under “Sheriff.” You must pay the
server, unless you qualify for a fee waiver.

How is personal service done?
Ask someone who is at least 18 and not listed in this
case to personally “serve” (give) a copy of your court 
papers to the person or the agent authorized to accept
court papers for the person, business, or public entity
listed on form SC-104.

Give the server a separate Proof of Service form for each
person, business, or public entity you are suing. And tell 
the server to: 
•  Walk up to the person to be served.
•  Say, “These are court papers.”
•  Give the person copies of all papers checked on

form SC-104, Proof of Service. If the person won’t
take the papers, just leave them near the person.
It doesn’t matter if the person tears them up.

•  Fill out and sign page 2 of form SC-104, Proof of 
Service.

How is substituted service done?
If you don’t want to use personal service or can’t find
the person to be served, ask someone who is at least 18
and not listed in this case to serve the court papers. 

Give the server a separate Proof of Service  form for each 
person, business, or public entity you are suing. Tell the 
server to give the papers to:

•  A competent adult (at least 18) at the home of and
living with the person to be served or

•   An adult who seems to be in charge where the person
to be served usually works or

•   An adult who seems to be in charge where the person 
receives mail (including a private mailbox, but not a 
U.S. Postal Service P.O. Box). Note: This is only for 
cases where the physical address of the person to be 
served is not known.

Then do the following:

•  Write down that person’s name and say, “Please give 
these court papers to [name of person to be served].”
If the person does not want to give his or her name, 
describe the person you served.

•  Give that person copies of all papers checked on form 
SC-104, Proof of  Service. If the person won’t take the 
papers, just leave them near the person. 

•  Mail another copy of the papers (by first-class mail)
to the person being sued at the same address where
you left the papers.

•  Fill out and sign page 2 of form SC-104, Proof of 
Service.

www.courts.ca.gov
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SC-104B What Is “Proof of Service”?

What does the server do with the original
Proof of Service form?

If a process server or sheriff served the papers, he or she
can file form SC-104, Proof of Service, with the clerk.
If the server used a different Proof of Service form, ask
him or her to list each paper served on the form. Also
make sure that the registered server will file the original
directly with the court and will mail you a copy of the
filed form. Take it with you when you go to court.

If a friend served the papers, tell him or her to give the 
completed form back to you. Keep a copy for your records 
and take the copy with you when you go to court.

You need to file the original completed Proof of Service
form 5 days before your trial. 

When do the court forms have to be served?
• If you are serving form SC-100, Plaintiff’s Claim, 

or form SC-500, Plaintiff’s Claim (COVID-19 
Rental Debt), look at the trial date on page 1. Then, 
look at a calendar.
For personal service, subtract 15 days from the trial date 
(or 20 days if the person, business, or public
entity is located outside the county). That’s the
deadline for serving your small claims forms. But
you can serve the forms before the deadline.

The people in      and1 2 must go to court

Trial
Date

Date Time

1.

For substituted service, subtract 25 days from the date 
the server mailed a copy of the court papers served (or 
30 days if the person, business, or public entity is 
located outside the county). That’s the deadline for 
serving your small claims forms. But you can serve the 
forms before the deadline.

If the person, business, or public entity to be served is
outside California or if you are serving a different form,
ask the Small Claims Advisor for more information.

• If you are serving form SC-120, Defendant’s Claim,
look at the trial date on page 1. Then look at a calendar. 

For personal or substituted service, subtract 5 days from 
the trial date. That’s the deadline for serving your small 
claims forms if you were served at least 11 days before the 
trial. If you were served 10 days or less before the trial 
date, you must serve at least 1 day before the trial. But you 
can serve the forms before  the deadline.

What if I can’t get the court papers served
before the trial?

If you were not able to serve your claim (form SC-100,
SC-120, or SC-500) before the deadline for service, talk to 
your Small Claims Clerk. Each county has its own rules. 

If you already served your claim on some parties but not 
everyone you are suing, you may need to fill out and file 
form SC-150, Request to Postpone Trial, at least 10 days 
before the trial date (or explain why you couldn't  meet the 
10-day deadline). Then give or mail a copy of  this form to 
all other plaintiffs and defendants listed on your court 
papers.

The court may postpone your trial for 15 days or more.

Who do I have to serve?

If you are suing a person (or people)—not a business or 
public entity—serve each person you are suing. For 
example, if you were in a car accident and you are suing 
the owner and the driver of the car, you must list the
names of the owner and the driver on your claim and
serve both people.

Examples:

If the owner and driver are the same person: 
Lee Smith, owner and driver

If the owner and driver are not the same person: 
Lee Smith, owner and driver
Bob Smith, owner
If you are suing a business, an association, or a public
entity, read form SC-104C, How to Serve a Business.

Your county’s Small Claims Advisor can help
for free.

? Need help?

Or go to “County-Specific Court Information” at 
www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-smallclaims.htm
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Judicial Council of California,
Revised January 1, 2009, Optional Form 
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 116.340, 415.10, 415.20

www.courts.ca.gov Proof of Service 
(Small Claims)

SC-104, Page 1 of 2

SC-104 Proof of Service
Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Fill in case number, case name, hearing date, 
day, time, and department below:

Case Number:

Case Name:

Hearing Date:

Time: Dept.:

Use this form to serve a person, a business, or a public entity. To learn more 
about proof of service, read What Is "Proof of Service"?, Form SC-104B. To 
learn more about how to serve a business or entity, read How to Serve a 
Business or Public Entity, Form SC-104C. 
To serve a business, you must serve one of the following people:

• Owner (for a sole proprietorship)

• Partner (for a partnership) or general partner (for a limited partnership)

• Any officer or general manager (corporation or association)

• Any person authorized for service by the business (corporation, association, 
general partnership, limited partnership)

• Any person authorized for service with the Secretary of State (corporation, 
association, limited liability company [LLC], limited liability partnership 
[LLP], limited partnership)

To serve a public entity, you must first file a claim with that entity, then 
serve one of the following people:
• Clerk (of a city or county)
• Chief officer or director (of a public agency)

• Any person authorized for service by the entity
1 a. If you are serving a person, write the person’s name below:

b. If you are serving a business or entity, write the name of the business 
or entity, the person authorized for service, and that person’s job title:

Business or Agency Name

Person Authorized for Service Job Title

2 Instructions to Server:
You must be at least 18 years old and not be named in this case. Follow these steps:

• Give a copy of all the documents checked in 3 to the person in 1 , or

• Give a copy of all the documents checked in 3 to one of the following people:

a. A competent adult (at least 18) living with, and at the home of the person in 1 , or

b. An adult (at least 18) who seems to be in charge at the usual workplace of the person in 1 , or

c. An adult (at least 18) who seems to be in charge where the person in 1 usually receives mail
(but not a U.S. Post Office box), if there is no known physical address for the person in 1 .

and mail a copy of the documents left with one of the adults in a, b, or c above to the person in 1 .
THEN
• Complete and sign this form, and

• Give or mail your completed form to the person who asked you to serve these court papers, in time for 
the form to be filed with the court at least 5 days before the hearing.

3 I served the person in 1 a copy of the documents checked below:
a. SC-100, Plaintiff’s Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court
b. SC-120, Defendant’s Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court
c. Order for examination (This form must be personally served. Check the form that was served):

Note: The court can issue a civil arrest warrant if the served party does not come to court only if the order for 
examination was personally served by a registered process server, sheriff, marshal, or someone appointed by the court.

(1) SC-134, Application and Order to Produce Statement of Assets and to Appear for Examination
(2) AT-138/EJ-125, Application and Order for Appearance and Examination
Otherd. (specify):



Revised January 1, 2009 Proof of Service
(Small Claims)

SC-104, Page 2 of 2

Case name:
Case Number:

a. Personal Service: I personally gave copies of the documents checked in 3 to the person in 1

On (date): At (time): a.m. p.m.
At this address:

City: State: Zip:

b. Substituted Service: I personally gave copies of the documents checked in 3 (a, b, or d) to (check one):
A competent adult (at least 18) at the home of, and living with the person in 1 , or
An adult who seems to be in charge where the person in 1 usually works, or

An adult who seems to be in charge where the person in 1 usually receives mail, or has a private
post office box (not a U.S. Post Office box), if there is no known physical address for the person in 1 .

I told that adult, "Please give these court papers to (name of person in 1 )."

I did this on (date): At (time): a.m. p.m.

At this address:

City: State: Zip:

After serving the court papers, I put copies of the documents listed in 3 in an envelope, sealed the envelope,
and put first-class prepaid postage on it. I addressed the envelope to the person in 1 at the address where I
left the copies.
I mailed the envelope on (date): from (city, state):
by leaving it (check one):
a. At a U.S. Postal Service mail drop, or

b. At an office or business mail drop where I know the mail is picked up every day and deposited with 
the U.S. Postal Service, or

c. With someone else I asked to mail the documents to the person in 1 , and I have attached that person s’
completed Form SC-104A.

Name or description of the person I gave the papers to:

Fill out “a” or “b” below:4

5 Server s Information’

Name: Phone:

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Fee for service: $

If you are a registered process server:

County of registration: Registration number:

6 I declare under penalty of perjury under California state law that I am at least 18 years old and not named in this 
case and that the information above is true and correct.

Date:

’Type or print server s name Server signs here after serving
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