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MAXIMUM VALUES FOR SMALL ESTATE SET-ASIDE 
& DISPOSITION OF ESTATE WITHOUT ADMINISTRATION

DE-300

§§ 6602, 6609 As of the date of the decedent's death, the net value of the decedent's estate, 
excluding all liens and encumbrances at the date of death and the value of any 
probate homestead set apart under Probate Code section 6520, must not exceed: $   95,325

§ 13050(c)

§§ 13100, 13101

§§ 13151, 13152, 
     13154

$   18,450

$ 184,500

$ 184,500

The amount of any salary or other compensation owed to the decedent, not to 
exceed:

The gross value of the decedent's real and personal property in California, 
excluding the property described in Probate Code section 13050, must not exceed:

The gross value of the decedent's real and personal property in California, 
excluding the property described in Probate Code section 13050, must not exceed:

This form lists the maximum dollar values of a decedent's estate or specific property in that estate, as of the date of the decedent's 
death, for purposes of determining eligibility for 
(1) an order setting the estate aside for the decedent's surviving spouse and minor children; or
(2) disposition of the estate or specific real or personal property in the estate informally, without full administration. 

NOTE: The values in the left column apply to the estate of a decedent who died before April 1, 2022. The values in the right column 
apply to property of a decedent who died on or after April 1, 2022.

The amount of the adjustment of the prior values is based on the change in the United States city average of the Consumer Price Index 
for All Urban Consumers for the three-year period ending December 31, 2021, with each adjusted value rounded to the nearest $25. 
(See Prob. Code, § 890(b).) Unless otherwise provided by statute after April 1, 2022, these values will next be adjusted April 1, 2025.

SMALL ESTATE SET-ASIDE UNDER PROBATE CODE SECTIONS 6600–6613

PROPERTY EXCLUDED FROM DETERMINING VALUE OF ESTATE

AFFIDAVIT FOR COLLECTION, RECEIPT, OR TRANSFER OF PERSONAL PROPERTY

PETITION & COURT ORDER DETERMINING SUCCESSION TO PROPERTY

DISPOSITION OF ESTATE WITHOUT ADMINISTRATION UNDER SECTIONS 13000–13606

1.

2.

a.

c.

b.

AFFIDAVIT FOR SUCCESSION TO REAL PROPERTY OF SMALL VALUEd.
§ 13200

$   61,500

The gross value of all real property in the decedent's estate located in California, 
excluding the real property described in Probate Code section 13050, must not 
exceed:

e. AFFIDAVIT FOR COLLECTION OF COMPENSATION OWED TO DECEASED SPOUSE
§§ 13600, 13601

$   18,450

Net salary or other compensation owed, in aggregate, by one or more employers 
for personal services of the deceased spouse, must not exceed: 
(This limit does not apply if the decedent was a firefighter or peace officer 
described in Government Code section 22820(a).)

$   85,900

$   16,625

$ 166,250

$ 166,250

$   55,425

$   16,625

Probate Code Section Description

NOTICE

If the decedent died on or after April 1, 2022, this form must be attached to 

 • an affidavit or declaration furnished under Probate Code section 13101;
 • a Petition to Determine Succession to Real Property (form DE-310) filed under Probate Code section 13151;
 • an Affidavit re: Real Property of Small Value (form DE-305) filed under Probate Code section 13200; or
 • an affidavit or declaration furnished under Probate Code section 13601. 


