FRESNO SUPERIOR COURT OF THE COUNTY OF FRESNO

INVITES ATTORNEYS TO APPLY

To Serve as

TEMPORARY JUDGES

If you wish to serve as a temporary judge, please read this carefully.

The Fresno County Superior Court is adding attorneys to its pool of temporary judges. It encourages you to consider applying.

Temporary judges are used at the discretion of the Presiding Judge when the court needs judicial assistance that it cannot provide using its full-time judicial officers.¹

Temporary judges most often hear small claims and traffic matters. They may also preside over other types of cases, such as: unlawful detainers, civil discovery and settlements, family law, domestic violence, probate, civil harassment and juvenile delinquency and dependency.² [Each court should tailor the last two sentences as befits its practice.]

To become a temporary judge you must have been admitted to practice as a member of the State Bar of California for at least ten years (or at least five years for an appointment with good cause).³

¹ Rule of Court 2.811(a)

² Rule of Court 2.812(c)(3) augmented by list of possible uses in Contra Costa County.

³ Rule of Court 2.812(a)

The conditions for appointment are found in Rule 2.812(b) of the California Rules of Court, and the education and training requirements are found in Rule 2.812(c). [In addition, Fresno County Superior Court has a more comprehensive list of training requirements [insert link to PDF of the court's training requirements.]⁴
The Court can provide considerable assistance in obtaining the necessary education and training.⁵

The Court seeks to maximize the potential for a diverse applicant pool. It encourages each and every eligible individual to apply to be a temporary judge regardless of his or her gender, race, ethnicity, disability, religion, sexual orientation, age or other protected class.⁶ Among the qualifications that the Court will consider in the selection process is an applicant's exposure to and experience with diverse populations and issues related to those populations.⁷

If you wish to apply, please contact Janet Teixeira at (559) 457-1736 or iteixeira@fresno.courts.ca.gov. Applications are located on the Fresno County Superior Court website: http://www.fresno.courts.ca.gov/.

-

⁴ See the Contra Costa County requirements attached. Each Court will have to tailor this to its program.

⁵ Rule of Court 10.740-10.741.

⁶ Rule of Court 10.741.

⁷ Id.

TEMPORARY JUDGE PROGRAM TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

LINK FOR ALL ONLINE TRAINING: http://www2.courtinfo.ca.gov/cjer/pro_tem.htm

REQUIREMENTS EVERYONE MUST MEET EVERY THREE YEARS:

- 1. Review the online Fairness, Demeanor, and Self-Represented litigants materials
- 2. Attend a 4-hour in-person training session on judicial demeanor
- 3. Take the online course on judicial ethics

EXTRA REQUIREMENTS BY CALENDAR TYPE:

1. For Small Claims calendars:

- Take <u>all</u> relevant online training courses and review online benchguides
- Attend the local in-person class on hearing small claims calendars

2. For Traffic calendars:

- Take online training course and review online benchguides
- Attend the local in-person class on hearing traffic calendars

3. For Unlawful Detainer calendars:

- Take online training course and review online benchguides
- Attend the local in-person class on hearing unlawful detainer calendars

4. For Juvenile Dependency and Delinquency calendars:

- Have a minimum of 5 years practice experience handling juvenile dependency and/or delinquency cases (<u>must</u> have practice experience in requested case type)
- Take online training courses and review online benchguides

5. For Civil Discovery calendars:

- Certify you have taken at least 3 CLE units in civil procedure in past 24 months
- Review the online civil benchguides
 - o <u>Disqualification of Judge</u>
 - o Courtroom Control: Contempt and Sanctions
- Review Chapter 9 of Proceedings Before Trial by the Rutter Group

6. For Probate calendars:

- Certify you have taken at least 3 CLE units in probate in past 24 months
- Attend the local in-person class on hearing probate calendars

7. For Domestic Violence calendars:

- Certify you have taken at least 3 CLE units in domestic violence in past 24 months
- Attend the local in-person class on hearing domestic violence calendars

8. For Civil Harassment calendars

- Certify you have taken at least 3 CLE units in domestic violence in past 24 months
- Review the online benchguide available on the Judicial Council's website
- Attend the local in-person class on hearing civil harassment calendars