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TYPES OF RESTRAINING ORDERS 
 

1. EMERGENCY PROTECTIVE ORDER [EPO] 
The EPO is good for 5 work days.  The police or sheriff grants it at the time 
of the incident.  The EPO can include orders for custody, residence kick-out
orders, or stay away orders.  The person seeking protection must be in
immediate or present danger of violence or threat of serious harm must have
been made towards the victim or family members.  An EPO is free and a Judge
authorizes the officer to issue it. 

 
2. DOMESTIC VIOLENCE RESTRATINING ORDER (DV-TRO)  Family Law 

The initial Temporary Restraining Order is usually granted for 25 days (or until the
hearing) and can include custody, use of car or home, stay away order and/or kick-out
orders.  In most cases the abuser is not granted any visitation until the time of the
hearing.  DV-TRO’s must be served on the other party personally at least five days
before the hearing, and a “Proof of Service” filed with the court before the court date.
A copy of the Domestic Violence Restraining Order must be on file with the Sheriff’s
Office for the order to be enforced. 
 
Any copies of EPO’s, DV Police Reports, or medical records concerning the Domestic
Violence should be attached to the initial papers and filed as Exhibits to help prove the
domestic violence has occurred. [Family Code §6228 gives domestic violence victims
the right to obtain, free of charge, a copy of all domestic violence incident reports upon
request]. 
 
 

 There are currently three places that help review, and possibly prepare, DV-TRO’s  
 free of charge. They are: 

1. Family Law Facilitator’s Office, (559) 497-6500, 255 N. Fulton Avenue, #106,
Fresno, CA.   
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2. Central California Legal Services, (559) 570-1200, 1999 Tuolumne St., #700,

Fresno CA. 
3. Centro La Familia, (559) 237-2961, 2014 E, Tulare Street, #717, Fresno, CA. 
 
Both Central California Legal Services and Centro La Familia have Spanish speaking
staff, however you must qualify as “low-income” to get help at these two offices.  The
Family Law Facilitator’s Office does not have any income limitations.  Domestic
Violence services at all 3 locations is free of charge, and there is no filing fee with the
court for filing a request for a Restraining Order. 
 
Recent acts or threats of violence against the victim or family members are required to
have a Domestic Violence Restraining Order granted.  These orders can include other
family members.  You must keep track of what happened and when.  Police reports
about acts or threats of violence are helpful but not required to obtain a Restraining
Order.  The court will not grant a restraining order if there are no recent acts of
domestic violence (within 30 days). 
 
The initial order is good until the time of the court hearing (25 days).  You must attend
the hearing to have the permanent restraining order granted.  This will usually be
good for three (3) years.  Custody and visitation orders will be made if minor children
are involved, and you may be referred to mediation for a custody/visitation
recommendation after the hearing.  The custody/visitation orders do not expire and
will remain in effect until new orders are made.  [Family Code §3044 creates a
rebuttable presumption that no custody, either legal or physical, should be given to a
person who is found to have committed domestic violence against the other parent, a
child or sibling within the last five years]. 
 
If you are unable to have the abuser served with the initial restraining order at least 5
days before the hearing, you may need to have it extended for an additional 25 days
but you must request and file for a “Reissuance” of the Restraining Order on or before
the court date.   
 
An “Order After Hearing” must be prepared and a copy filed with the court and
sheriff for the restraining order to be in effect. The court will usually prepare this.
 
3. CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER (CPO)  

A Criminal Protective Order is a restraining order that is granted by the judge at
any hearing on a criminal domestic violence case against the violent person.  You
must let the District Attorney know that you want a Criminal Protective Order.  This
order can include provisions for  “stay away” from you and your from children but it
does not grant custody orders.  The CPO is free and is good until the criminal
case is dismissed. If the abuser is sentenced to probation, the Criminal Protective
Order is good and may extend beyond the term of probation.  You will be given a 
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copy of the Criminal Protective Order if you are at the court hearing.  If not, a copy
will be mailed to you.  If the case is dismissed against the abuser, the Criminal 
Protective Order will be dismissed and the victim may seek a family law
Restraining Order for protection, and to establish custody, visitation and other orders
if needed. 
 
Cooperation with the District Attorney in prosecuting the abuser for domestic violence
is the best way to help the abuser get into and stay with batterer’s accountability. 
 

4. CIVIL ORDER PREVENTING HARASSMENT 
This is a restraining order for parties not related by blood, marriage or an intimate 
relationship (e.g. neighbors, co-workers, etc.)  Forms are available from the Superior
Court Clerks Office on the 4th floor of the courthouse for a minimal charge, but there
is no filing fee. 

 
REFERRALS 

SAFETY PROGRAMS: 
 
1. CONFIDENTIAL ADDRESS PROGRAM [a.k.a. “Safety At Home”] 

This is a free program to provide Domestic Violence Victims with confidential
addresses.  It is administered through the Fresno County Victim Witness Program in
conjunction with the Secretary of State’s Office.  They forward your mail to you and 
use their address for all legal or personal needs.  You can also apply for a$2,000
relocation voucher and $1,000 security voucher.  Victim/Witness Services Center is
located at 2220 Tulare Street, #1126, Fresno, CA and their phone number is  
488-3425. You can also contact the State Office at their toll-free number 1 (877)  
322-5227 if you live outside of the Fresno areas. 

2. VINE PROGRAM [Victim Information & Notification Everyday] 
This is a computer-based program that notifies the victim when the abuser has been 
released from jail or prison after an arrest.  To register, call 1 (800) 491-5170. 

 
SAFETY PROGRAMS: 
 
1. CHILD SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
 There is no registration Fee but there is a $15.00 exchange fee.  The fee for

Supervised Visitation is $25.00 per hour.  They are located at 4991 E. McKinley,
#118, Fresno, CA.  Their telephone number is (559) 453-6861. 

2. CHILD CUSTODY PROGRAM 
They are located at 350 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA. Their telephone number is
(559) 268-4227. 
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3. COMPREHENSIVE YOUTH SERVICES 
They are located at 3795 E Shields, Fresno, CA.  Some reduced-fee or free services 
may be available based upon income. Their telephone number is (559) 229-3561. 

4. CENTRO LA FAMILIA DE FRESNO 
They are Located at 2014 E. Tulare, #700, Fresno, CA Their telephone number is (559) 
237-8530. 
 

REFERRALS 
 
1. DOMESTIC VIOLENCE=CHILD ABUSE.   

You are at risk for having your children removed from your custody if you remain in a 
violent, abusive relationship.  You could be charged with failure to protect them. 

 
2. No one with a restraining order against them can own, posses or purchase a gun.  You 

should tell an officer issuing an EPO about any guns the abuser may own or posses 
and have them removed from the abuser’s control. 

 
3. It is very important to document any domestic violence and keep track of what 

happens and when. 
 
4.  Both parents have equal rights to custody of minor children until there is a court order 

establishing custody and visitation.  It is very important to protect your custody rights 
and obtain an order as soon as possible.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



DV-505 Forms You Need for a Temporary Restraining Order

Look at the numbers at the top of your forms.

For a restraining order you need:

DV-100  Request for Order

Need help?

Can a Domestic Violence Restraining Order Help Me? (DV-500)

I Filled Our the Forms—What Now? (DV-510)

What Is “Proof of Service”? (DV-210)

Get Ready for Your Hearing (For Protected Person) (DV-520)

Information for the Restrained Person (DV-540)

Get Ready for Your Hearing (For Restrained Person) (DV-550)

Judicial Council of California
www.courtinfo.ca.gov
Revised July 1, 2005
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How to Enforce Your Order (DV-530)

1

DV-110  Temporary Restraining Order and Notice of Hearing

If you have children with the person you want protection from, 
you also need:

DV-105  Child Custody, Visitation, and Support Request

2

DV-140  Child Custody and Visitation Order

If you want child support or spousal support, you also need:

FL-150*  Income and Expense Declaration or

3

FL-155*  Financial Statement (Simplified)
* Read Which Financial Form—FL-155 or FL-150? (Form DV-570) to know which one is right for you.

Ask the clerk if your county has special forms or rules.  Fill out the forms.  Then take them back to the court clerk.4

Other forms you will need (don’t fill them out now):

DV-120  Answer to Temporary Restraining Order

5

DV-130  Restraining Order After Hearing (Order of Protection)
DV-200  Proof of Service (In Person)

6
The clerk has information sheets that can help you.  Or you can get them at: www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms

How Can I Make the Order Permanent? (DV-560)

Which Financial Form—FL-155 or FL-150? (DV-570)

How to Reissue a Temporary Restraining Order (DV-126)

Need more help?7
Ask the court clerk about free or low-cost legal help.
Or call the National Domestic Violence Hotline:
     1-800-799-7233
     TDD: 1-800-787-3224
It’s free and private.
They can help you in more than 100 languages.

You can use this form as a checklist.

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

Forms You Need for a Temporary Restraining Order
(Domestic Violence Prevention)



What is a "domestic violence restraining

The first (temporary) order lasts until your next court date. 
At that time, the judge will decide to continue or cancel the 
order. The order issued at that hearing could last for up to 5 
years. Child custody, visitation, and support orders last 
longer.  Child custody, visitation, and support orders can 
last until the child turns 18.

order"?

Abuse means to hit, kick, hurt, scare, throw things, 
pull hair, push, follow, harass, sexually assault, or 
threaten to do any of these things. Abuse can be 
spoken, written, or physical.

How much does it cost? 
Nothing.

You can still get a restraining order.  If you are worried 
about deportation, talk to an immigration lawyer.

Can I get a restraining order?
You can ask for one if:
   A person has abused you and

You have a close relationship with that person
(married, divorced, separated, registered 
domestic partnership, dating or used to date, 
live together or used to live together*), or 
you are related (parent, child, brother, sister,

Yes. Go to court on the date the clerk gives you. If you do 
not, your order will end.

grandmother, grandfather, in-law)
* You have to be more than just roommates.

What if I don't qualify for a restraining 
order?

Ask the court clerk about legal services and domestic 
violence help centers in your county. The clerk can also 
send you to the Family Law Facilitator for help with child 
support.

If you do not qualify, there are other kinds of orders
you can ask for:

Do I need to bring a witness to the court 
hearing?

Ask the court clerk for the forms you need for these 
special kinds of orders. You may also want to talk to 
a lawyer.

How soon can I get the order? 

How will the restraining order help me?
It can order the restrained person to:

DV-500-INFO, Page 1 of 2

What is abuse?

The judge will decide whether or not to make the
order within 24 hours of your request.  Sometimes 
the judge decides sooner.

How long does the order last?

It is a court order that can help protect people from
abuse.

What if I don't have a green card?

Do I have to go to court?

No. But it is a good idea, especially if you have children.
Do I need a lawyer?

  No. But it helps to have proof of the abuse. You can bring:
     A statement from a witness, made under oath 
     A witness
     Photos
     Medical or police reports
     Damaged property
     A threatening letter, an e-mail, or a telephone message
  The judge may or may not let a witness speak at the hearing.

Not contact or go near you, your children, other
relatives, or others who live with you
Not have a gun
Move out of your house

Civil harassment order (can be used for neighbors,
roommates, and co-workers)
Dependent adult or elder abuse restraining order

Judicial Council of California, www.courtinfo.ca.gov 
Revised July 1, 2008
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DV-500-INFO Can a Domestic Violence Restraining Order Help Me?

Can a Domestic Violence 
Restraining Order Help Me? 
(Domestic Violence Prevention)

Other orders are available.  The restraining 
order can also provide for:

     Child custody and visitation orders
     Child support
     Spousal support

•     
•   

•   



Will I see the restrained person at the
hearing?

Can I use the restraining order to 
get divorced or terminate a 
registered domestic partnership?

If the restrained person comes to the hearing, yes. But 
that person does not have the right to speak to you. If 
you are afraid, tell the court officer. Read Get Ready for 
Your Hearing (For Protected Person) (Form 
DV-520-INFO).

No. These forms will not end your marriage or registered 
domestic partnership. You must file other forms to end your 
marriage or registered domestic partnership. The court clerk 
can tell you where to get legal help.

Yes. You can bring someone to sit with you during the 
hearing. But that person cannot speak for you in court. 
Only you or your lawyer (if you have one) can speak for 
you.

Yes. The judge can order the person named in the 
orders not to take the children out of California, or the 
county you live in, without your written agreement or 
another court order.

Your restraining order works anywhere in the United 
States. If you move out of California, contact your new 
local police so they will know about your orders. If you 
want to move with your minor children, you need the 
other parent’s permission or a court order. (There are 
some exceptions. Talk to a lawyer.)

Ask the court clerk about free or low-cost legal help.
Or call the National Domestic Violence Hotline:

1-800-799-7233
       TDD: 1-800-787-3224 
They can help you in more than 100 languages. 
It’s free and private.

How will the restrained person know 
about the order?

For help in your area, contact:

Call the police. The restrained person can be arrested 
and charged with a crime.

DV-500-INFO, Page 2 of 2

Can I bring someone with me to the court?

When you file your papers, ask the clerk for a court 
interpreter. If the interpreter is not available for your 
court date, bring someone to interpret for you. Do not 
ask a child, or anyone protected by the order, to 
interpret for you.

What if I don't speak English?

What if I am deaf or hard of hearing?

Someone who is at least 18—not you or anyone
else protected by the order—must “serve” (give)
the restrained person with a copy of the order.  The 
sheriff or marshal will do it for free, but you have to 
ask. For more help, ask the court clerk for Form 
DV-210-INFO.

What if the restrained person doesn't obey
the order?

Can this order stop the other person from
taking our children away?

What if I move?

Need more information?

Revised July 1, 2008

DV-500-INFO Can a Domestic Violence Restraining Order Help Me?

Requests for Accommodations
Assistive listening systems, computer- 
assisted real-time captioning, or sign 
language interpreter services are available if 
you ask at least five days before the 
proceeding.  Contact the clerk's office or go 
to www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms for Request 
for Accommodations by Persons With 
Disabilities and Response (Form MC-410).  
(Civil Code, § 54.8.)

No. Only the judge can change or cancel the order.

Can I agree with the restrained person to
cancel the order?

Can a Domestic Violence 
Restraining Order Help Me? 
(Domestic Violence Prevention)



Take your forms to the court clerk. The clerk will give your forms to the judge. The judge will look at them 
and decide whether to make the order. Sometimes the judge will want to talk to you. If so, the clerk will tell you. 

DV-510-INFO, Page 1 of 2Judicial Council of California, www.courtinfo.ca.gov
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I Filled Out the Forms—What Now?

1

 (Domestic Violence Prevention)

DV-510-INFO I Filled Out the Forms—What Now?

Find out if the judge made the temporary restraining order. Ask the clerk when to come back to see if the 
judge signed the order (Form DV-110). The judge must decide by the next business day. Check to see if the judge 
made any changes. 

1

“File” the judge’s order. If the judge signs the order, the clerk will “file” it. The clerk will keep the original for 
the court and give you 5 “filed” copies. If you need more, make them yourself. 

What to do with your copies:

66

• Keep 1 copy with you, always. You may need to show it to the police.
Keep another copy in a safe place. 
Give a copy to anyone else protected by the order. 
Take copies to places where the restrained person is ordered not to go (school, work, daycare, etc.) 
Give a copy to the security officers in your apartment building and workplace.

•
•
•
•
Restraining orders get entered into CLETS, a statewide computer system that lets police know about your order. 
The court will send the order to law enforcement or CLETS for you. 

Know your hearing date.
Look at Form DV-110 for the 
date and time of your hearing. 

You must go to your hearing to 
get a permanent order. 

The order you have now only 
lasts for about 3 weeks. 

66

1

2

3

4
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DV-510-INFO I Filled Out the Forms—What Now?

“Serve” the restrained person.
Ask someone you know, a process server, or law enforcement to personally “serve” 
(give) the restrained person a copy of the order. You cannot send it by mail. 
The server must:

665

• Be 18 or over
Not be protected by the orders•

Law enforcement will serve the orders* for free, but you have to ask.
Use Form CH-101/DV-290 to ask for free service.

If the restrained person wasn’t served . . . 
The restrained person must be served before the 
hearing. If the restrained person wasn’t served, fill out 
Form DV-125 to ask the judge for a new hearing date. 
Do this before or at your hearing. (If you wait until 
after the hearing, you have to start from the 
beginning.) 

If the judge signs this order, the restraining order will 
last until the new hearing date.

667

• File the signed order (Form DV-125) with the clerk.
The clerk will send it to law enforcement or CLETS 
for you. 
Attach it to your other court papers and get the
restrained person served.
If you didn’t file the original Proof of Service, bring 
it to your hearing.
Bring a copy of Form DV-125 to your hearing.

•

•

•

After serving the orders, the server fills out and signs the Proof of Service and gives it to you.

File your Proof of Service (Form DV-200). 
The Proof of Service shows the judge and police that the restrained person got a copy of the order. Make 5 copies of 
the completed Proof of Service. Take the original and 5 copies to the court clerk as soon as possible before your 
hearing. The clerk will keep the original and give you back the copies stamped “Filed.” Bring a copy to your 
hearing. 

Keep 1 copy with you and another in a safe place in case you need to show it to the police. Give the other copies out 
as you did in   .  . The court will send your completed Proof of Service to law enforcement or CLETS for you. 
CLETS is a statewide computer system that lets police know about your order.
     If the sheriff serves your order, he or she will send the Proof of Service to the court and to CLETS for you.

666

3

•

A “process server” is a business you pay to deliver court forms. Look in the
Yellow Pages under “Process Serving.”*

*If law enforcement or the process server uses a different Proof of Service form, make sure the form lists all the 
forms served. 



Be prepared.
Bring documents that support your case (police or medical reports, rental agreements or receipts, photos,     
bills, etc.).  Bring 2 copies of all documents and filed forms, including the Proof of Service. 

You can bring a witness to help support your case.  Witnesses may or may not be permitted to testify.  
But you can bring a written statement of what the witness saw or heard.  You must file and serve witness 
statements at the same time that you file Forms DV-100 and DV-110.
Most courtrooms do not allow children.  Ask if there is a children’s waiting room in the courthouse.

Don't miss your hearing! 
If you miss it, the restraining orders will end and you will have to start from the beginning.

Get there 30 minutes early.
Find the courtroom.
When the courtroom opens, go in and tell the clerk or officer that you are present.

Watch the other cases so you will know what to do.
When your name is called, go to the front of the courtroom.

What if you don't speak English?
When you file your papers, tell the clerk you will need an interpreter. If a court interpreter is not available, bring 
someone to interpret for you.  Do not ask a child, a protected person, or a witness to interpret for you.

What if you are deaf or hard of hearing?

Practice what you want to say.
Make a list of the orders you want and practice saying them.  Do not take more than 3 minutes to say what you 
want.

If you get nervous at the hearing, just read from your list.  Use that list to see if the judge has made every 
order you asked for.

The judge may ask questions.
Tell the truth. Speak slowly.  You can read from your list.
The restrained person or his or her lawyer may also ask you questions.
Give complete answers.
If you don't understand, say “I don’t understand the question.”

Speak only to the judge unless it is your turn to ask questions.
When people are talking to the judge, wait for them to finish.  Then you can ask them questions about what 
they said.

You can bring a friend or relative (a “support” person), but that person must not talk for you in court.

If you are afraid of the restrained person, tell the officer.

Your hearing may last just a few minutes or up to an hour or more.  However, you may be at court several hours, 
depending on the number of other cases.

Judicial Council of California, www.courtinfo.ca.gov
Revised July 1, 2007
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If the restrained person lies in court, wait until he or she finishes talking.  Then tell the judge.

• 
• 
• 

• 

• 
• 

• 

• 
• 

• 

• 

• 

• 

• 

• 
• 
• 

DV-520-INFO Get Ready for Your Hearing (For Protected Person)

Get Ready for Your Hearing (For Protected Person) 
(Domestic Violence Prevention) 

Requests for Accommodations
Assistive listening systems, computer-assisted real-time captioning, or sign language interpreter services 
are available if you ask at least five days before the proceeding. Contact the clerk’s office or go to 
www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms for Request for Accommodations by Persons With Disabilities and Order 
(Form MC-410).  (Civil Code, § 54.8.)



If the restrained person was at the hearing, you can have him or her served with a copy of Form DV-130 by mail. Ask 
the server to complete Form DV-250 and give it back to you after he or she mails Form DV-130.
If the restrained person was not at the hearing, but the judge’s orders are the same as the temporary order, you can have 
him or her served with a copy of DV-130 by mail.  Ask the server to complete Form DV-250 and give it back to you.
If the restrained person was not at the hearing, and the judge’s orders are different from the temporary order, you must 
have someone serve Form DV-130 in person, not by mail.  Ask the server to complete Form DV-200 and give it back to 
you.

Remember: You and other protected people cannot serve the orders.
The sheriff or marshal will serve the orders for free. Ask the court clerk what you need to do.

DV-520-INFO Get Ready for Your Hearing (For Protected Person)

The judge will decide.

At the end of the hearing, the judge will say what the orders are.

Review it and make sure you understand.  If anything is wrong or missing, tell the clerk right away.
If the judge makes the orders, the judge will sign your Form DV-130.  Take it to the clerk to file it.  The clerk will give 
you up to 5 copies.

Make sure your Form DV-130 says what the judge has ordered.  Sometimes the clerk fills out the form for you.  If not, 
fill it out yourself.  If you filled it out before the hearing, you may have to make changes.

The judge may “continue” your case.
This means you have to come back another day.  The judge can do this if:

The judge wants more information
Your hearing is taking longer than planned

The restrained person needs time to get a lawyer or prepare an answer

Ask the clerk for the forms you need.

What about child custody or visitation?

If you are sent to mediation, the judge may make your restraining, custody, and visitation orders last until the next 
hearing or until another court order.

If you need child custody or visitation orders, the judge will send you to mediation. Mediation helps parents agree on a 
plan for custody and visitation that is best for the children.

Either parent can ask to meet with the mediator separately. You can bring a support person with you to mediation.  A 
support person can provide emotional support but cannot speak for you.

What happens after the hearing?
Ask the clerk if the court will fill out Form DV-130 for you.  If not, fill it out.
If the judge makes the orders, go to the clerk and file Form DV-130. The clerk will send it to law enforcement or 
CLETS for you.  CLETS is a statewide computer system that lets police know about the order.

Revised July 1, 2007 DV-520-INFO, Page 2 of 2

At the hearing, the judge will consider whether denial of any orders will risk your safety or the safety of children for 
whom you are requesting custody, visitation, or child support.  The judge will also consider safety concerns about your 
financial needs and the children’s.

• 

• 
• 

• 
• 

• 

• 

• 

• 

• 
• 
• 

• 

• 

• 

• 

Ask the judge to extend the temporary orders until the new hearing date.

Get Ready for Your Hearing (For Protected Person) 
(Domestic Violence Prevention) 



The judge may need to set your hearing for another day. 
This happens when:

DV-126-INFO, Page 1 of 1Judicial Council of California, www.courtinfo.ca.gov
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How to Reissue a Temporary Restraining Order
 (Domestic Violence Prevention)

DV-126-INFO How to Reissue a Temporary Restraining Order

• You were not able to get your temporary restraining order served or
The other person asked for time to get a lawyer or prepare an answer or
You need to meet with a Family Court mediator about child custody or visitation

•
•

If your hearing gets changed to another day, follow these steps:
• Fill out Form DV-125.

Ask the judge to sign it and give you a new hearing date. In some courts, you must give your form to the clerk for 
the judge’s signature.  Ask your court clerk for information on the local process.
File the form with the clerk. The clerk will make 5 copies for you. Ask the clerk to stamp “Filed” on your copies.  
Attach 1 “filed” copy of Form DV-125 to your other court papers (Forms DV-100 and DV-110). Get them served 
on the restrained person. Do this right away. Now your orders will last until the new hearing date.
The clerk will send your restraining order to law enforcement or  CLETS for you. CLETS is a statewide 
computer system that lets police know about your order.
Bring all your papers back to the next court hearing. 

•

•
•

•

•

Need help?
Ask the court clerk about free or low-cost legal help. 
Or call the National Domestic Violence Hotline:
            1-800-799-7233
            TDD: 1-800-787-3224
It’s free and private.
They can help you in more than 100 languages.

For help in your area, contact:



Get copies.
Get copies of your restraining order and Proof of Service from the court clerk:

DV-530-INFO, Page 1 of 1Judicial Council of California, www.courtinfo.ca.gov
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How to Enforce Your Order
 (Domestic Violence Prevention)

DV-530-INFO How to Enforce Your Order

• Keep 1 copy with you, always. You may need to show it to the police.
Keep another copy in a safe place. 
Give a copy to anyone else protected by the order. 
Take copies to places where the restrained person is ordered not to go (school, work, daycare, etc.). 
Give a copy to the security officers in your apartment building and workplace.

•
•
•
•

If any problems, call the police.
Call the police right away if the restrained person violates any of the orders. Also:
• Write down what happened, when, where, and the names of any 

witnesses. 
Get copies of police reports. 
If you are hurt, get copies of medical reports.

•
•

Even if you haven’t served the orders yet, call the police. 
Show the police a copy of your orders. If the restrained person is there, 
ask the officer to serve the orders. If the officer serves the orders, he or 
she will send the Proof of Service to the court and CLETS for you. 
CLETS is a statewide computer system that lets police know about 
your order.

Police can arrest.
It is a crime to disobey the judge’s orders. 
The restrained person can:

Be fined or 
Go to jail

•
•

Ask your local district attorney (D.A.) how he or she will handle your case.  The D.A. may file criminal or 
contempt charges. You can always call the D.A. for information about a criminal case. 
You can also file a civil contempt action. Ask the court clerk for forms. 

Guns
The restrained person cannot
• own

have
buy or try to buy 

•
•
a gun or firearm while the order is in effect. If the person does, he or she can 
go to jail and pay a fine of $1,000.

Penal Code section 11106 authorizes a law enforcement officer to give you 
information about any firearms the restrained person has registered, 
transferred, or sold.  You may disclose the information as needed to protect
yourself or someone else.




